Colin de Grandhomme back for the last three ODIs against Pakistan

The third ODI will be played on the 13th of January in Dunedin.

Colin de Grandhomme
Colin de Grandhomme of New Zealand bowls. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

New Zealand recalled Colin de Grandhomme for the final three ODIs against Pakistan. Earlier, de Grandhomme withdrew from the ODI squad before the three matches against West Indies owing to his father’s sudden death. The all-rounder flew to Zimbabwe just before the start of the series.

De Grandhomme who replaces George Worker, will feature in a game for Auckland before playing the third ODI. With two straight wins, early in the series, the Black Caps would hope to seal the series. Grandhomme will join the squad after playing for Auckland on the 10th. The third ODI will be played on the 13th of January in Dunedin.


The team is excited to have Colin back

Kiwis selector said that everyone was looking forward to having Grandhomme back in the side. “It’s been a difficult time for Colin and I know the group is excited to catch up with him. Everyone has been thinking of him while he’s been away,” Gavin Larsen, New Zealand selector said.

“Colin has been effective for us with bat and ball and provides another all-rounder option,” he added.

However, with a perfect team combination, it will be a tough decision on whom to leave behind, if Grandhomme is to be picked in the eleven. The Zimbabwe-born Kiwi cricketer featured last in an ODI in October 2017 against India.

New Zealand won the first two ODIs and will be looking to grab the series by winning the decider. The home side triumphed in the first game by 61 runs (DLS method). Kane Williamson’s century helped Kiwis post a score above 300. Chasing 315, the Pakistanis fell behind by 61 runs after 30 overs which resulted in a loss. Todd Astle did well by picking a couple of wickets in the second ODI where Pakistan lost by 8 wickets in a rain-affected game.

New Zealand squad for the next three ODIs:

Kane Williamson (C), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.