IPL: Here is how Mumbai Indians have fared in playoffs over the years

Mumbai Indians have qualified for the playoffs 10 times.

View : 993

3 Min Read

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians (Photo Source:BCCI/IPL)

Mumbai Indians qualified for the playoffs of IPL 2023 on the last day of the league stage on May 21 as they beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Following their win, MI finished with 16 points and further needed RCB’s loss against GT to qualify and much to their good fortune the defending champions beat the Faf du Plessis-led side.

Notably, it is the 10th time in 16 seasons that the five-time champions qualified for the playoffs. As the Rohit Sharma-led side prepares for yet another playoffs in the ongoing IPL 2023.

Let’s take a look at Mumbai Indians’ journey in IPL so far:

IPL 2008 (fifth spot)

Led by Harbhajan Singh and Sachin Tendulkar, MI finished in the fifth spot in the points table with seven wins from 14 games.

IPL 2009 (seventh spot)

MI finished in second last spot (seventh) on the points table with five wins from 14 matches.

IPL 2010 (Runner ups)

Both Sachin Tendulkar and Mumbai Indians had an incredible season as they finished on the top of the points table in the league stage and Tendulkar finished as the Orange Cap holder with 618 runs. However, they failed to win the title losing to CSK in the final.

IPL 2011 (Qualifier 2)

Mumbai finished in the third spot with 18 points from 14 matches but got knocked out in Qualifier 2 after losing to Royal Challengers Bangalore.

IPL 2012 (Eliminator)

MI once again finished in the third spot with 20 points from 16 games and got knocked out in the Eliminator losing to Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2013 (Winners)

Rohit Sharma was handed the captaincy mid-season from Ricky Ponting and he led his side to a maiden title victory after finishing second on the points table with 11 wins.

IPL 2014 (Eliminator)

MI qualified for the playoffs in the most dramatic manner possible by chasing 190 in 14.4 overs. However, the euphoria didn’t last long as they got knocked out by losing against CSK in the Eliminator.

IPL 2015 (Champions)

Rohit Sharma led MI to their second title win after a miserable start to the campaign where they lost four consecutive matches. They beat CSK in the final by 41 runs.

IPL 2016 (Fifth spot)

MI failed to qualify for the playoffs for the first time after seven years as they finished in the fifth spot with 14 points to their name.

IPL 2017 (Champions)

The Hitman-led MI to their third title win beating Rising Pune Super Giants by one run in the dramatic final.

IPL 2018 (fifth spot)

MI failed to qualify for the playoffs as they lost their last game vs Delhi Daredevils by 11 runs.

IPL 2019 (Champions)

MI won their fourth title by once again winning the final by one run defeating Chennai Super Kings in the big game.

IPL 2020 (Champions)

MI became the second team to win consecutive titles by defeating Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final.

IPL 2021 (Fifth spot)

MI failed to qualify for the playoffs finishing fifth on the points table with 14 points.

IPL 2022 (Tenth spot)

MI had their worst season ever as they started their season with eight consecutive losses and finished in the 10th spot with four wins from 14 games.


Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store