Exclusive Article

TNPL: 10 unsung heroes of all time

Despite performing brilliantly in the league, these players are highly underrated and haven't got the recognition they deserve.

View : 911

9 Min Read

Baba Aparajith, R Sai Kishore and Shahrukh Khan
Baba Aparajith, R Sai Kishore and Shahrukh Khan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) has gained a lot of supporters in a few years. In the last seven years, the league has delivered quality cricketing action to the followers of T20 cricket.

Back in 2016, former India captain MS Dhoni inaugurated the maiden edition of the league and international players such as Lakshmipathy Balaji, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik, and Ravichandran Ashwin among others also became a part of franchises to scintillate the tournament.

Chepauk Super Gillies (CSG) and Lyca Kovai Kings (CSG) became the joint champions in 2022, and in the upcoming edition, their endeavours will be to be at their best again and lift the trophy again, this year. In the previous edition, some amazing T20 action was witnessed by fans.

A few players performed exceptionally in the 2022 edition of the league and got appreciated for their efficiency while some players also delivered powerful numbers to their sides but didn't hog the limelight.

Here are 10 unsung heroes of TNPL

10. Laxmesha Suryaprakash (Nellai Royal Kings)

L Suryaprakash
L Suryaprakash. (Photo Source: Twitter)

L Suryaprakash is serving Nellai Royal Kings (NRK) since 2021. In his first season with NRK, Surya failed to create any impact, scoring only 122 runs in six innings of seven matches at a strike rate of 108.92. Under Baba Indrajith, NRK made it to the playoffs for the first time in the 2022 edition and their best performers with the bat were Sanjay Yadav and Baba Aparajith.

Yadav, who scored 452 runs in nine matches at a strike rate of 186.77, finished as the leading run-scorer in the tournament. While Aparajith too grabbed the attention for ending up as the third-highest run-getter in the competition with 396 runs in nine matches at a strike rate of 144.52.

However, another name that reinforced the team regularly with the bat was Suryapraksh. The right-handed batter contributed 232 runs to his side in eight matches at a strike rate of 117.76 and ended up as the sixth-leading run-getter in the competition.

Page1 / 10

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store