Exclusive Article

IPL: 10 slowest centuries recorded in cash-rich league

Over the years, the Indian Premier League has witnessed several centuries scored at a gradual pace.

View : 1.3K

5 Min Read

David Warner, Jos Buttler and Ambati Rayudu
David Warner, Jos Buttler and Ambati Rayudu. (Photo Source: Twitter)

For any batter, smashing a century in the Indian Premier League (IPL) becomes one of the most memorable moments in his cricketing career. In the last 15 years, IPL supporters have witnessed a lot of centuries. Back in 2008, when the inaugural edition of the league was played, Brendon McCullum hit a fabulous century in the opening game against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Over the years, some rapid tons have been scored from batters in the IPL such as Chris Gayle, Yusuf Pathan, David Miller, Adam Gilchrist, and AB de Villiers among others. While on the other side, there have also been some batters who have also racked up hundreds at a gradual pace in the tournament. 

Here are the top 10 slowest IPL centuries

10. Manish Pandey vs Deccan Chargers (2009)

Manish Pandey
Manish Pandey. (Photo Source: Twitter)

In the 2009 IPL, Manish Pandey grabbed headlines for his stupendous 114-run innings off 73 deliveries for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Deccan Charges (DC) in Centurion. Pandey, who was just 19 years old, played some exquisite strokes and brought his century in just 67 deliveries.

Riding on his extraordinary knock, Bangalore defeated Chargers by 12 runs and Pandey became the recipient of the Player of the Match award. 

9. Sachin Tendulkar vs Kochi Tuskers Kerala (2011)

Sachin Tendulkar
Sachin Tendulkar. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After three editions of the league, Sachin Tendulkar gave his fans a memorable IPL memory from his bat. In the 13th game of IPL 2011, Master Blaster smashed 100 runs off 66 deliveries against the Mahela Jayawardene-led Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK). During his magnificent innings, he hit 15 boundaries (12 fours and three maximums) to become a centurion. However, his innings went in vain as KTK emerged victorious by eight wickets in the end.

Page1 / 5

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store