Uncapped duo bask in the limelight as White Ferns announce squad for South Africa series

The series is set to begin on September 24.

View : 159

2 Min Read

New Zealand Womens Team.
New Zealand Womens Team. (Photo Source: Twiiter/@WHITE_FERNS)

New Zealand women have announced their 16-member squad for their upcoming tour to South Africa. Interestingly, Kate Anderson and Bella Armstrong have earned their maiden call-ups, just two years after signing a developmental contract with New Zealand Cricket. 

Notably, Anderson was terrific in the domestic season with Canterbury, where she finished as the leading run-scorer of the T20 tournament. She was expected to make her debut against Sri Lanka earlier in the year but had to pull out of the series due to a finger injury. On the other hand, Armstong has been called up only for the T20I series. 

The middle-order batter was in good form in New Zealand’s One-Day tournament, and based on that, the team management has decided to include her for the series against South Africa. Meanwhile, head coach Ben Sawyer was delighted to see the duo making it to the national team and lauded them for their recent performances.

“Kate had an outstanding domestic season last year and was unfortunate to miss the Sri Lanka tour through injury. We like her power and skills with the bat and we're looking forward to giving her an opportunity on the international stage. Bella's an exciting young prospect who hits the ball hard and is an outstanding fielder, so she's got all the attributes that we want from a White Fern,” Sawyer was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

Jess Kerr makes her return to national squad

Pacer Jess Kerr, who was dealing with an injury, is set to make her return against South Africa. Sawyer mentioned that it is a massive bonus for the team to have her in the mix. He lauded Kerr, mentioning that she is a world-class bowler.

“It's a real bonus to have Jess back in the squad after injury ruled her out of the Sri Lanka tour," Sawyer said. "She's got a world-class bowling skill set and is especially effective with her in-swinger, which is proving more and more difficult in the women's game,” Sawyer mentioned.

New Zealand squad for the tour of South Africa: Sophie Devine (c), Kate Anderson, Bella Armstrong (T20Is only), Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze (ODIs only), Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Molly Penfold, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store