RR vs CSK Head-to-Head Record in IPL History

RR did a double over CSK in the league phase of IPL 2023

View : 2.7K

72 Min Read

Sanju Samson and MS Dhoni
Sanju Samson and MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: Instagram and IPL/BCCI)

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were the two teams who clashed in the final game of the inaugural IPL season in 2008. The RR team defeated CSK in that game by winning the match on the final ball in a nail-biting finish. Rajasthan had earlier defeated Chennai in both league matches that season.

In last season Chennai Super kings didn't do well. On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals entred into the finals and ended on the losing side. The Royals have now won six of their last seven matches against the Super Kings in the cash-rich league.

RR vs CSK Head to Head:

In IPL history so far, both teams have clashed in 28 games of which 15 matches have been won by Chennai Super Kings, while Rajasthan Royals have won 13 games. 

Matches Played CSK Won RR Won Tie No Result
28 15 13 0 0

All-Time Top Performers:

Among the players, Shane Watson has scored the most runs (679) in the matches played between both teams. He is followed by Suresh Raina (630) and MS Dhoni (553), and Jos Buttler (346). In the bowling record, Ravindra Jadeja has picked up the most wickets (20) followed by Albie Morkel and R Ashwin (14 each).

Rajasthan vs Chennai Last Meeting:

RR and CSK last met in Match no. 37 of IPL 2023 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur where the Royals defeated the Super Kings by a margin of 32 runs. Batting first, RR reached a huge total of 202/5 in their allotted 20 overs. It also turned out to be the highest-ever team total in the league in Jaipur. Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal struck 77 off 43 while Dhruv Jurel played a cameo of 34 off just 15. In reply, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shivam Dube smashed 47 and 52 runs respectively. But it wasnt enough as the Men in Yellow could managed to reach only 170/6. Adam Zampa was the pick of the RR bowlers for his spell of 3/22 (3).

Rajasthan vs Chennai Results:

Date Winner Won by Venue
27-Apr-2023 RR 32 Runs Jaipur
12-Apr-2023 RR 3 Runs Chennai
20-May-2022 RR 5 wickets Mumbai
2-Oct-2021 RR 7 Wickets Abu Dhabi
19-Apr-2021 CSK 45 runs Mumbai
19-Oct-2020 RR 7 Wickets Abu Dhabi
22-September-2020 RR 16 runs UAE
11-April-2019 CSK 4 Wickets Jaipur
1-Apr-2019 CSK 8 runs Chennai
12-May-2018 RR 4 wickets Jaipur
21-April-2018 CSK 64 runs Pune
10-May-2015 CSK 12 runs Chennai
19-April-2015 RR 8 wickets Ahmedabad
13-May-2014 CSK 5 wickets Ranchi
23-April-2014 CSK 7 runs Dubai
4-Oct-2013 RR 14 runs Jaipur
12-May-2013 RR 5 wickets Jaipur
22-April-2013 CSK 5 wickets Chennai
10-May-2012 CSK 4 wickets Jaipur
21-April-2012 CSK 7 wickets Chennai
9-May-2011 CSK 63 runs Jaipur
4-May-2011 CSK 8 wickets Chennai
3-April-2010 CSK 23 runs Chennai
28-March-2010 RR 17 runs Ahmedabad
9-May-2009 CSK 7 wickets Kimberley
30-April-2009 CSK 38 runs Centurion
1-Jun-2008 RR 3 wickets Mumbai
24-May-2008 RR 10 runs Chennai
4-May-2008 RR 8 wickets Jaipur


*Last Updated: 27th April 2023.

For all the latest IPL news, live scores, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store