ICC World Cup 2019: Afghanistan name 23 probables for the tournament

ICC World Cup 2019: Afghanistan name 23 probables for the tournament

They will train in South Africa and will play six practice matches.

Afghanistan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced the 23-man squad for the upcoming World Cup. This group will train in South Africa for the next few days now and will play six practice matches. Upon returning to Kabul after the training camp, the selectors will announce the final 15-man squad for the quadrennial event to be played in England. Though he is removed from captaincy, Asghar Afghan is the part of the squad.

Gulbadin Naib looks set to lead the team in the World Cup now after the ACB dropped a bombshell on Friday. Afghan was removed from the captaincy across all the three formats even as Rahmat Shah and Rashid Khan were named at the helm in the Tests and T20Is.

Darwish Rasooli and Qais Ahmad also part of the squad

Rashid Khan is the vice-captain of the team and it seems that he and Mohammad Nabi have been given a leeway to play in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). The duo is plying its trade for the Sunrisers Hyderabad and are actually doing well for the team. As for the rest of the squad, the talented Darwish Rasooli has also made it to the squad. He was impressive in the Afghanistan Premier League (AP) last year.

The squad is filled with utmost talent and it remains to be seen who makes it to the final 15 of the tournament. The same 15-man squad will be facing Scotland and Ireland in May where they will play two ODIs each against them. Afghanistan will also lock horns with Pakistan and England in the one-off ODI. They will start their World Cup campaign against Australia on June 1.

Afghanistan’s 23-man squad: Gulbadin Naib (c), Rashid Khan (vc), Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Najib Zadran, Darwish Rasooli, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Shapoor Zadran, Hamid Hassan, Karim Janat, Qais Ahmad, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Sayed Shirzad, Samiullah Shinwari.

[interaction id=”5ca6276c6a636d5b731632a1″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier League (IPL)Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.