India fined for slow over-rate during first ODI against Australia

India fined for slow over-rate during first ODI against Australia

India lost the match by 66 runs.

India. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Team India’s tour of Australia started on a poor note on Friday as they lost the first ODI by 66 runs. And as if the defeat was not enough, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has also slapped the Men in Blue with a 20 per cent fine for maintaining a slow over-rate during the match at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

The ICC announced the news on Saturday. Match Referee David Boon imposed the sanction after the Virat Kohli-led side was ruled to be one over short of the target after time allowances were taken into consideration. On-field umpires Rod Tucker and Sam Nogajski, TV umpire Paul Reiffel and fourth umpire Gerard Abood levelled the charge.

“In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offences, players are fined 20 per cent of their match fee for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time,” read the statement from the ICC.

“Kohli pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing,” added the statement.

India start Australia tour with a defeat:

Virat Kohli & Co. have started their sojourn in Australia with a defeat in the first ODI of the three-match series. Chasing a mammoth total of 375, India did cross the 300-run mark but never really looked in contention to chase down the total. Australia piled up 374 for 6 in their allotted 50 overs after Aaron Finch won the toss and decided to bat first.

He and David Warner laid the foundation by adding 156 runs for the first wicket. Warner was out for 69 while Finch scored 114. Steve Smith then fully capitalised on the start by slamming a 62-ball ton. Glenn Maxwell also played a fine knock of 45 from just 19 balls. For the visitors, Mohammed Shami picked up 3 for 59 while the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal failed to deliver.

In reply, India finished on 308 for 8. Hardik Pandya was the highest scorer for India with 90 while Shikhar Dhawan scored 74. The likes of Virat Kohli, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul failed to contribute big with the bat.