India vs West Indies, 2019: 1st T20I – Kohli's record knock, India's biggest chase, Hyderabad's T20I debut and more stats

India vs West Indies, 2019: 1st T20I – Kohli’s record knock, India’s biggest chase, Hyderabad’s T20I debut and more stats

All the statistical highlights from India’s record run-chase in the first T20I against West Indies.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India took a 1-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series against West Indies as they recorded a successful 208-run chase during the first game in Hyderabad. The visiting team kept finding boundaries from the very first over as they finished with 207/5 having struck 15 maximums in due course.

The platform for India’s chase was laid during the 2nd wicket partnership between KL Rahul and Virat Kohli. The duo added exactly 100 runs in 61 deliveries before Rahul got out for a 40-ball 62. Skipper Kohli stayed till the end with an unbeaten 94-run knock as India completed the chase with 8 balls and six wickets to spare.

All the statistical highlights from India’s record run-chase in the first T20I against West Indies:

India’s biggest chase:

208 – India’s run-chase of 208 in this match is their highest successful run-chase in T20I cricket. Their previous highest T20I chase was 207 against Sri Lanka in the 2009 Mohali T20I. This 208-run chase is now the 5th highest target successfully chased down in T20Is.

3 – Number of times India has chased down a 200+ target in T20I cricket – 208 vs West Indies in 2019, 207 vs Sri Lanka in 2009 and 202 vs Australia in 2013. They are now the first team to win three T20I matches while chasing a target in excess of 200.

India’s fortress of this decade:

8 – India won each of the eight International matches they played at the RGIC Stadium in Hyderabad since the start of 2011. Last time India lost an International match here was in November 2009 during an ODI against Australia. Since then, India featured in 9 matches at this ground winning in eight of them (3 ODIs, 1 T20I & 4 Tests) while a Test ended in a draw.

Kohli’s record knock:

94* – Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 94-run knock is now the highest individual T20I score by an Indian captain while chasing a target. The previous highest score in a T20I chase by an Indian skipper was 85 by Rohit Sharma against Bangladesh last month during the Rajkot T20I.

List of records Virat Kohli created with his career best T20I score of 94*

Hyderabad makes its T20I debut in style:

108 – The RGI Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad hosted as many as 108 T20s before hosting a T20I. The Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore also hosted 108 Twenty20s before making its T20I debut in 2015. No other venue hosted more T20s before its first T20I. The Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium stood host for 112 T20s but is yet to host a T20I match.

3 – Hyderabad’s RGICS has witnessed three successful chases of 200+ targets; the joint 3rd most by any venue in the Twenty20 format. The Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore recorded six successful chases of 200+ targets while and Taunton’s County Ground witnessed four such run-chases.

The Kennington Oval, Sharjah Stadium, Johannesburg’s New Wanderers and Chelmsford’s County Ground also had three successful 200+ T20 chases each in the T20s.

A day of milestones for Rahul:

29 – KL Rahul is now the joint 3rd quickest player to 1000 runs in the T20I cricket. Rahul needed only 29 innings for achieving this milestone.

Stats: KL Rahul completes 1000 runs in Twenty20 International cricket

91 – Innings KL Rahul needed to complete 3000 runs in the Twenty20 format on Indian soil. He is the 3rd fastest and the quickest Indian to reach 3000 T20 runs in India. Chris Gayle and David Warner completed this milestone in 72 and 90 innings respectively.

A six-hitting spree from the Caribbean batters:

15 – Number of sixes hit by West Indies in this match; the most by any team against India in a T20I on Indian soil. The previous most sixes that India conceded in a home T20I were 11 sixes during the 2016 WT20 semi-final also against the West Indies.

A tough game for Chahar:

56 – Runs Deepak Chahar conceded in his four overs during this match; the 3rd most number of runs conceded by an Indian in a T20I. Yuzvendra Chahal gave away 64 runs during the 2018 Centurion T20I against South Africa while Joginder Sharma went for 57 runs during the 2007 WT20 match against England.

Rohit goes past Dhoni:

48Rohit Sharma has played at least one T20I match on 48 different venues; the most by any player in Men’s T20I cricket surpassing MS Dhoni who also played T20Is on 47 grounds. Across both Men’s and Women’s cricket, only Suzie Bates (49) has featured in more grounds than Rohit in the T20I format.