Indian cricketers who have been awarded the Padma Bhushan

List of cricketers who have been conferred with the Padma Bhushan

Rahul Dravid
Former Indian cricketer and captain Rahul Dravid. (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/Getty Images)

The longest-serving captain and wicketkeeper in the history of Indian cricket, MS Dhoni has been nominated for Padma Bhushan award by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The Padma Bhushan award is the 3rd highest civilian honour of India. Dhoni is already a recipient of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, the highest sporting honour of India as well as the Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian honour.

India’s most successful captain is one of the two cricketers to receive the Khel Ratna with Sachin Tendulkar being the other. Sachin is also a recipient of the highest civilian honour, the Bharat Ratna and the 2nd highest civilian honor, Padma Vibhushan. Dhoni will become one of the 10 cricketers to receive the Padma Bhushan from the Indian Government.


List of cricketers who have been conferred with the Padma Bhushan:

1956 – CK Nayudu:

India’s first ever captain in Test cricket, Cottari Kanakaiya Nayudu was the first recipient of this award among cricketers. Nayudu received the Padma Bhushan in 1956 when it was the 2nd highest civilian honour.

1958 – Maharajkumar of Vizianagram:

Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Vijay Anand Gajapathi Raju well known as Maharajkumar of Vizianagram was the 2nd cricketer to be awarded the Padma Bhushan. For his services to the sport, Vijay Anand received it in 1958.

1973 – Vinoo Mankad:

Mulvantrai Himmatlal Mankad well known as Vinoo Mankad was one of the greatest all-rounders to play the sport. He received the 3rd highest civilian honour back in 1973 for his services to the Indian cricket team. He was the only sportsperson to receive this honour between 1968 and 1979.

1980 – Sunil Gavaskar:

Sunil Gavaskar, the first ever player to score 10,000 runs in Test cricket received the Padma Bhushan award in 1980 for his successful International career representing Team India.

1991 – Lala Amaranth, D. B. Deodhar, and Kapil Dev:

In 1991, the Indian government honored Lala Amaranth, D. B. Deodhar and Kapil Dev with the Padma Bhushan for their contributions to Indian cricket. Amaranth was India’s first ever centurion in Test cricket while Kapil Dev was the captain of India when they won their first ever World Cup in 1983. Deodhar was a passionate player in Indian first-class cricket and played the sport even at an age of 55.

2002 – Chandu Borde:

Chandrakant Gulabrao Borde was the 8th cricketer to receive the Padma Bhushan award. Borde was felicitated by the Indian government in 2002 for his crucial contributions to India’s victories between 1958 and 1970.

2013 – Rahul Dravid:

One of the two Indian players with 10000 runs in both Tests and ODI cricket, Rahul Dravid was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 2013, a year after his retirement from the International cricket in 2012.