IPL 2018: Final, Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – Statistical Highlights

Here we look at all the stats and numbers that were recorded during the IPL 2018 finale at the Wankhede.

Shane Watson & Suresh Raina
Chennai Super Kings’ Suresh Raina and Shane Watson. (Photo by Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Chennai Super Kings clinched the IPL title for the first time since 2011 as they thumped the toppers of the league stage Sunrisers Hyderabad in a near one-sided game. In the first ever IPL final at the Wankhede Stadium, MS Dhoni invited the Sunrisers to bat first who ended up with a stiff total of 178/6 on the board. The CSK chase began with Shane Watson batting out 11 balls for his first run as they were one down for 20 after five overs. Watson made up for the slow start with a single-handed effort scoring an unbeaten 117 to take CSK over the line.

Here we look at all the stats and numbers that were recorded during the IPL 2018 finale at the Wankhede:

1 – Chennai Super Kings defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad on all the four occasions this season was the first time a team defeating an opponent on four instances in an IPL edition.


3 – MS Dhoni became the 2nd captain after Rohit Sharma to win three IPL titles. Gautam Gambhir is the only other captain to win the tournament more than once.

4 – Ambati Rayudu became the 2nd player to be part of as many as four winning finals in the IPL. He was part of three final wins with Mumbai Indians. Rohit Sharma was the first to be part of four IPL final wins.

4 – Shane Watson’s century in this game is his 4th in the IPL and the 2nd in this season. Chris Gayle (6) and Virat Kohli (4) are the other players to score as many as four centuries in the cash-rich league.

5 – Chennai Super Kings equalled Mumbai Indians’ tally of three IPL wins and overall five final victories in the Twenty20 format. Only Sialkot Stallions (8) have won more than five T20 tournament finals. CSK also equalled Sialkot’s nine appearances in the T20 finals.

7 – This was MS Dhoni‘s 7th win in a Twenty20 tournament final as captain. Shoaib Malik and Rohit Sharma won five T20 tournament finals as skippers. This game was Dhoni’s 12th T20 final as captain while no other captain led his teams in even ten finals.

11 – Dwayne Bravo now has been a part of 11 wins in the Twenty20 tournament finals. Only Kieron Pollard (12) has been on winning side more often than Bravo when it comes to the T20 finals. Among Indians, Suresh Raina equalled Rohit Sharma’s eight appearances in T20 final wins. MS Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu have been involved in eight final victories in the shortest format.

117*Shane Watson‘s unbeaten 117 is the highest individual score in an IPL final surpassing Wriddhiman Saha’s 115* for Kings XI Punjab against KKR in 2014. Watson’s 117 is also the 2nd highest individual score in a Twenty20 tournament final behind Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 126 in the last year’s Bangladesh Premier League final.