IPL 2018: Match 34, Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during Mumbai's thrilling win over Kings XI.

Rohit Sharma
Mumbai Indians’ Rohit Sharma in action. (Photo by IANS)

Mumbai Indians‘ strong batting line-up finally came to the party and helped the team defeat the mighty Kings XI Punjab in their first of many must-win matches on the quest to qualify for the playoffs. The defending champions’ bowling plans worked before an expensive 20th over which gave the home team a 22-run bost and they finished at 174/6.

Mumbai’s strategy of keeping wickets in hand and not pushing to overhaul the required rate seemed to have backfired as they crawled with a run rate of 6.5 an over at half-way stage. Thereafter skipper Rohit Sharma and the Pandya brothers’ hit their way out of troubles to take them beyond the line with an over to spare after Suryakumar Yadav’s fifty.


Here are all the stats and numbers that were recorded during Mumbai’s thrilling win over Kings XI:

0 – Ravichandran Ashwin failed to pick up a wicket for the 3rd consecutive game despite bowling his four overs. This is the first time in his IPL career that Ashwin hasn’t picked a wicket in three consecutive matches after completing his full quota.

2Suryakumar Yadav received his 2nd Man of the Match award in his 64-match IPL career. The other time he was awarded the MoM in the IPL was in the match between KKR and RPS in the 2016 season for his 49-ball 60.

5 – KL Rahul and Chris Gayle as a pair have added fifty-plus stands in all the five matches they opened together. Thus, they are now the 2nd pair in the IPL history to record five consecutive fifty-plus stands. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers had registered 50+ stands in five consecutive games during the 2016 edition.

6 – Teams batting second won all the six matches in the IPL that were hosted at Indore’s Holkar Stadium. Kings XI Punjab won three out of the five games they have played at this venue and have lost twice in two games to MI.

17 – Number of times Rohit Sharma has remained unbeaten during a run-chase in the IPL. His teams ended up winning the match in all 17 instances. Rohit remained unbeaten in four successful chases for Deccan Chargers and 13 times for Mumbai Indians.

17Rohit Sharma‘s 17 not outs in successful run-chases in the IPL are the 3rd most for any player. Ravindra Jadeja and Yusuf Pathan have remained unbeaten 19 and 18 times respectively in successful run chases.

301 – Number of sixes Rohit has hit in the Twenty20 format so far. He became the first Indian and the overall 7th player to crack 300 sixes in the T20 format.

1017 – KL Rahul completed 1000 runs in the IPL with the six he hit off Mitchell McClenaghan in the first over of the match. Rahul is one of the 59 players to score 1000 runs in the tournament to date.