IPL 2019: Bangladesh Cricket Board denies NOC to star player

IPL 2019: Bangladesh Cricket Board denies NOC to star player

BCB has given 10 other players the permission to play in the IPL 2019.

Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh
Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

The upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) might see some of the biggest names in the game giving it a miss. The reason behind the same is the World Cup in England next year. The mega event gets underway on May 30, just days after the conclusion of the IPL. The date for the twelfth edition of the competition has not been announced yet but it is likely to end in mid-May.

Not surprisingly, boards and players are not taking any risk. The England and Australian cricket boards have already confirmed that their players would miss the latter stages of the competition in order to prepare for the World Cup. On the other hand, Australian stars like Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch have decided to give the entire tournament a miss by pulling out of the auction. 

Another big name which is going to miss the upcoming edition of the cash-rich league is Mustafizur Rahman. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has decided against giving the player a No Objection Certificate (NOC) for the league owing to his fitness history. The left-arm pacer’s short career has been marred by injuries so far. And with the World Cup in sight, the BCB decided to preserve their pace spearhead.

Mustafizur had a forgettable outing in the last season. The left-arm pacer, who starred for Sunrisers Hyderabad in their victorious campaign a couple of years ago, managed just 7 wickets in as many games. The wickets came at an average of almost 33 while he conceded over 8 runs per over.

Nine other Bangladesh players in the fray

Meanwhile, the BCB has given 10 other players the permission to play in the cash-rich tournament. 8 out of those ten will be in auction, hoping for their first-ever IPL contract. The eight players are Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Abu Hider, Liton Das and Nayeem Hasan. 

Veteran opener Tamim Iqbal is also in the auction but he has already featured in the league before. The southpaw had played for the now-defunct Pune Warriors India in IPL 2012 and 2013. Another Bangladesh player who is set to play the league is Shakib Al Hasan after being retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Overall, 1003 players have registered themselves for the 70 spots available in the eight IPL franchises for the auction on December 18 in Jaipur.

[interaction id=”5c08f3e16c97ee01a2f358fe”]

~ Written by Bijoy

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian Premier League, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.