IPL 2019: BCCI announces the schedule for the first two weeks

RCB and CSK will lock horns in the season opener in Chennai.

View : 163.1K

2 Min Read

IPL 2018 BCCI Jammu and Kashmir
IPL trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finally announced the schedule of the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). But this schedule contains only 17 matches for the first two weeks and the schedule of the remaining matches will be announced once the election dates are finalised. The defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will face the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the season opener at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai.

The statement on the official website of the IPL states that the schedule is subject to changes after the election commission finalises the dates. A total of 17 matches will take place in the first two weeks of the 12th edition and it is only fitting that MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli-led sides will lock horns in the opening game of the season.

“IPL releases the schedule of the first two weeks (17 matches) of the VIP IPL 2019 Season. These are still subject to the announcement of the Lok Sabha 2019 election dates. Once these have been released BCCI will address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates,” the official statement on the website read.

Delhi and Bangalore to play five matches

All eight franchises have been given a chance of hosting two matches each in the first two weeks’ schedule. However, Delhi Capitals will be hosting three matches at the Ferozshah Kotla while the RCB will play three away matches during this period. The other six teams will be played two home and the same number of away games. Only DC and RCB are playing five matches match and the other franchises will take the field four times until April 5.

Apart from the opening day, the other weekends will be double-headers like every season. According to the earlier reports, the franchises will only get four matches to host this season due to the security issues and all eight teams have agreed to the same.

Here’s the schedule:

Day Date Time Match Venue
Saturday 23-Mar Evening CSK vs RCB Chennai
Sunday 24-Mar Afternoon KKR vs SRH Kolkata
Evening MI vs DC Mumbai
Monday 25-Mar Evening RR vs KXIP Jaipur
Tuesday 26-Mar Evening DC vs CSK Delhi
Wednesday 27-Mar Evening KKR vs KXIP Kolkata
Thursday 28-Mar Evening RCB vs MI Bengaluru
Friday 29-Mar Evening SRH vs RR Hyderabad
Saturday 30-Mar Afternoon KXIP vs MI Mohali
Evening DC vs KKR Delhi
Sunday 31-Mar Afternoon SRH vs RCB Hyderabad
Evening CSK vs RR Chennai
Monday 1-Apr Evening KXIP vs DC Mohali
Tuesday 2-Apr Evening RR vs RCB Jaipur
Wednesday 3-Apr Evening MI vs CSK Mumbai
Thursday 4-Apr Evening DC vs SRH Delhi
Friday 5-Apr Evening RCB vs KKR Bengaluru

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian Premier League 2019Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store