IPL 2019: Match 44, Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians – Lesser Known Stats

IPL 2019: Match 44, Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians – Lesser Known Stats

Here are the lesser known stats from CSK's the first home defeat in this IPL.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo: IANS)

The Mumbai Indians outplayed the defending champions and the table-toppers Chennai Super Kings to register their 7th win of this IPL. The Mumbai franchise continued their domination over the Super Kings by limiting the hosts to 109; their lowest total ever at the Chepauk. It was MI skipper Rohit Sharma who did the job with the bat for them scoring 67 and helping them finish on 155/4. Lasith Malinga’s 4-wicket haul sealed a huge win for the visitors who missed their regular skipper MS Dhoni yet again.

Here are the lesser known stats from Chennai Super Kings’s first home defeat in this IPL:

The MI domination:

The defeat in this game brought an end to Chennai Super Kings’ seven-match winning streak in the IPL at the Chepauk Stadium. This was the 3rd time CSK won seven or more consecutive matches in the IPL at Chepauk. They won ten in a row between 2013 and 2015 seasons and also won eight in a row in 2011. Both those streak were brought to an end by the Mumbai Indians.

The total of 109 in this game is also the lowest IPL total for CSK at Chepauk. The lowest total of Super Kings at any venue in the IPL also came against the Mumbai Indians during the 2013 season where they were bowled out for 79 at the Wankhede.

Rohit extends his 100% record in Chepauk:

Rohit Sharma, in this game, made his 6th appearance against CSK at their home ground. He featured in two matches for the Deccan Chargers (2008, 2010), two matches as the player of Mumbai Indians (2012, 2013) and two matches as MI skipper (2015, 2019).

His teams won in all those six matches. However, with the bat, Rohit scored 68 runs in those previous five matches only to score 67 against the Raina-led team this time.

Raina’s wait for 100 continues:

Suresh Raina took his 99th catch as a fielder in the IPL during the home game against the Rajasthan Royals. He needed one more catch to become the first player in IPL history to claim 100 catches.

However, he has gone nine consecutive matches without a catch since then. This is the longest streak for Raina in the IPL without taking a catch.

Vijay misses Kohli’s record:

Murali Vijay has scores of 77, 74 and 107 in his previous three innings in the Twenty20 cricket. He scored those while playing for Tamil Nadu during the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

He missed the chance to produce another big knock as he fell for 38 in his first game of IPL 2019. Thus, he missed out a chance of becoming the 2nd player with four consecutive innings in the Twenty20 format with 70+. Virat Kohli had such a streak across the World T20 and IPL in 2016.

End of a fifty less streak for Rohit:

Rohit scored his first fifty of IPL 2019 in his 10th inning of the season. This is also his first fifty in 17 IPL innings; the 2nd longest streak for Rohit without a fifty in the IPL. His longest such streak was of 22 consecutive innings between 2009 and 2010 seasons.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.