IPL 2019: Match 5, Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings – Lesser Known Stats

IPL 2019: Match 5, Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings – Lesser Known Stats

Here are the lesser known stats from CSK's last over victory over the Delhi Capitals.

MS Dhoni and Shreyas Iyer
MS Dhoni and Shreyas Iyer. (Photo Source: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

A tricky Feroz Shah Kotla track in Delhi suited the Chennai Super Kings who cruised to a 6-wicket win against the Delhi Capitals. Shikhar Dhawan scored his first fifty for the Delhi team on his return as he anchored the DC innings. The hosts were set towards a 160+ total at a stage but had to settle with only 147/6. Shane Watson and Suresh Raina added 52 for the 2nd wicket in only four overs to break the chase. Some tight overs in the second half helped Delhi take the game into the final over but lack of runs on the board cost them the game at the end.

Here are the lesser known stats from CSK’s last over victory over the Delhi Capitals:

Playing 4 foreigners is too mainstream:

It is not often that teams don’t utilize the maximum limit of four overseas players in the IPL. There were only 15 instances where a team fielded with three or fewer foreigners in the playing XI till the end of 2018. Chennai Super Kings, for the first time, fielded with only three overseas players during the opening game of the season against RCB.

They went with three foreigners in the 2nd game against the Delhi Capitals too as they were unchanged for the first match. Delhi also took the field with three overseas players as Trent Boult was replaced by Amit Mishra for this game. Thus, DC and CSK paired up to record only the 2nd instance in the IPL of both teams fielding with less than four overseas players.

The Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore also played in Delhi during the 2017 season witnessed both the teams playing with three foreigners. The opening game of the 2011 edition between the Super Kings and the Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai is one of the three IPL games with only six overseas players as the Knight Riders fielded with only two in the XI for that game.

Mishra joins Malinga:

Amit Mishra became only the 2nd player to bag 50 wickets in the IPL at a venue by dismissing Shane Watson stumped. He now has 51 wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla from 40 IPL matches thus far. Mishra’s IPL career began with the Delhi Daredevils. The leg-spinner represented the Hyderabad franchises (Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad) during the 2011-2014 period before returning to Delhi in 2015.

Till date, only Lasith Malinga has claimed 50+ wickets in the IPL at a single venue. Representing the Mumbai Indians throughout his IPL career, Malinga claimed 58 wickets from 39 matches at their home ground, the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Tahir and Watson move ahead in T20 lists:

The quick-fire 26-ball 44 from Shane Watson helped him to clinch the player of the match award; his 34th such award in the Twenty20 format. He is currently tied with Shahid Afridi in the list of players with most ‘player of the match’ awards in the T20 cricket. Chris Gayle leads the list by a fair margin as he extended his T20 match awards tally to 58 during the game against Rajasthan Royals on Monday.

Imran Tahir conceded 20 runs in his two overs but managed to trap the opposition skipper Shreyas Iyer in front. It was Tahir’s 46th Twenty20 wicket via LBW; the joint 2nd most lbw wickets for any player. Rashid Khan has claimed 51 wickets by trapping the batsmen in front in this format while Sunil Narine also has 46 LBW wickets.