IPL 2019: One player each team can release

A deadline of November 15 has been set for the same.

Carlos Brathwaite
Carlos Brathwaite of Sunrissers Hyderabad celebrates. (Photo by Kuntal Chakrabarty/IANS)

The cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a witness to eleven jaw-dropping seasons. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the event for the third time to equal Mumbai Indians (MI) as the team with most title glories. The upcoming edition is a few months away and teams have already started looking into their combinations going into the 2019 season the T20 extravaganza.

In the meantime, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has given the eight franchises a deadline in order to submit the list of released players. A deadline of November 15 has been set for the same. It also means that a number of players who underperformed last season may be left out for the next season. In our article, we take a look at one player from each franchise.

Harbhajan Singh- Chennai Super Kings

Harbhajan Singh
Harbhajan Singh. (Photo Source: Facebook)

After plying his trade for Mumbai Indians (MI) for 10 seasons, off-break bowler Harbhajan Singh was released by the Rohit Sharma-led franchise. However, the seasoned campaigner was picked at his base price of INR 2 crore by Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Unfortunately, he didn’t have a memorable campaign by any means with seven wickets from 13 matches.

Moreover, he conceded runs at an economy of 8.48, which is way higher than his IPL economy of 7.05. The 38-year-old also couldn’t make any impact with the bat lower down the order having scored 29 runs from 13 matches. CSK has as many as three tweakers in Imran Tahir, Ravindra Jadeja and Karn Sharma, and releasing Harbhajan won’t spring much of a surprise.

Page 1 / 8