IPL 2020: Rating the teams based on their performance in the league stage

IPL 2020: Rating the teams based on their performance in the league stage

IPL 2020 witnessed the most intense competition ever between the teams to make it to the playoffs.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The league stage of the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is done and dusted with Mumbai Indians standing at the top of the points table. All the 8 teams that were part of the league fought hard to reach the playoffs but only the top 4 teams qualified.

Along with Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad have made it to the playoffs while Kolkata Knight Riders got knocked out due to poor NRR. KKR, with -0.21 NRR, stayed at the fifth position of the points table while RCB, with same number of wins stood at 4th position with a better NRR of -0.17.

Except for Mumbai Indians, the journey of all the other teams in this season has been a roller-coaster ride and they witnessed highs and lows in the league stage.

In this article, we tried to rate each team based on their performance in the league stage:

8. Chennai Super Kings – 6/10

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Coming into this edition of the tournament, the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings were the only team to reach the playoffs in all the seasons they participated in the IPL. They reached the final eight times and won the title thrice in 2010, 2011 and 2018 respectively.

Things didn’t go Chennai’s way this season as they lost the services of their vice-captain Suresh Raina and off-spinner Harbhajan Singh ahead of the season due to personal reasons. CSK though had kick-started their campaign with a win over their arch-rivals Mumbai Indians.

However, injuries to key players during the tournament led to them failing to continue that performance in the remaining matches. CSK was the only team that wasn’t in contention in the last week of the league stage. They finished 7th on the points table not before registering three consecutive wins to end their campaign.