IPL 2022: A total of 1214 players register for the mega auction

The IPL mega auction will take place on 12th and 13th February in Bangalore.

IPL auction
IPL auction. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 18.6K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

1214 cricketers, which also includes 312 uncapped cricketers have registered their names for the 2022 IPL auctions and this list of names will be sent to all the 10 franchises. A total of 49 players have listed their names at the maximum base price of INR 2 Crores for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) mega auction that will take place on 12th and 13th February in Bangalore.

This list will be cut down and a shorter list will be prepared before the auctions. According to ESPNCricinfo, some of the marquee names in list are David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina, Ishan Kishan, Pat Cummins, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa, Steve Smith, Dwayne Bravo, Mark Wood, Quinton De Kock, Faf du Plessis and Kagiso Rabada.

This will be the first IPL mega auction since 2018

The last time the IPL mega auctions were held was in the year 2018. The 2022 edition of the IPL will be a 10-team affair with 2 new franchises, Ahmedabad and Lucknow joining in the fray. All the franchises put together have spent close to INR 340 Crores in a bid to retain their marquee players ahead of the 2022 IPL mega auctions.

The 3 players picked by the Ahmedabad franchise are Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, and Shubman Gill. Pandya has also been appointed as the skipper of the Ahmedabad franchise. Both Pandya and Rashid will be paid a sum of INR 15 Crores, while Gill will be paid INR 8 Crores.

On the other hand, the Lucknow franchise has acquired KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, and Ravi Bishnoi. While Rahul will draw a salary of INR 17 Crores, Stoinis and Bishnoi will be paid INR 9.2 Crores and INR 4 Crores respectively. Rahul will also be the skipper of the Lucknow side in the 2022 edition of the tournament.

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) emerged as the champions of the 2021 edition of the IPL, beating the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 27 runs in the summit clash of the competition.