IPL Points Table, Team Standings, Orange Cap And Purple Cap Updated List After KKR vs MI Match

IPL Points Table, Team Standings, Orange Cap And Purple Cap Updated List After KKR vs MI Match

Mumbai Indians beat KKR by 10 runs in a thrilling encounter to open their account in IPL 2021.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Trent Boult bowled a brilliant final over, defending 14 runs as Mumbai Indians beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 10 runs in the fifth game of IPL 2021 to open their account. Chasing 153, KKR were comfortably placed 122 for 3 in the 15th over before capitulating spectacularly to finish their innings on 142 for 7.

Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana gave KKR another solid start by adding 72 runs for the first wicket in less than 9 overs. Rahul Chahar broke the stand when he sent back Gill for 33. Chahar then struck twice in quick succession to remove Rahul Tripathi and Eoin Morgan and reduce KKR to 104 for 3. In the meantime, Rana reached his 13th IPL fifty off 40 balls.

Chahar was not done yet. On the final ball of his spell, he dismissed Rana for 57 to leave KKR reeling at 122 for 4 after 15 overs. Two balls later, Krunal Pandya dismissed Shakib Al Hasan and gave away just one run in the over to pile more pressure on KKR. Dinesh Karthik and Andre Russell then steadied the ship but found it tough to score runs at a good pace. Needing 15 runs in the final over, KKR could score only 4.

Mumbai Indians open the account in IPL 2021

Earlier in the game, Mumbai Indians were all out for 152 with Russell taking his first fifer in the IPL. Just like their previous game against Royal Challengers Bangalore where Harshal Patel had taken a fifer against them to deny them a strong finish, Mumbai Indians failed to finish their innings on a good note once again because of Russell.

The West Indian picked up his 5 wickets in only two overs while giving away just 15 runs to blow Mumbai’s lower-order away. The KKR all-rounder dismissed Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Marco Jansen, Rahul Chahar, and Jasprit Bumrah. Prior to Russell’s devastating spell, a fifty from Suryakumar Yadav had put Mumbai on course for a good total after they were asked to bat first.

When Suryakumar departed for 56, the defending champions were comfortably placed at 86 for 2 in the 11th over. But from thereon, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals as their innings did not get the impetus for a final flourish. Apart from Suryakumar, Rohit Sharma (43) was the only other player to cross the 20-run mark for Mumbai.

Here is the updated points table:

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied NR Pts NRR
Delhi Capitals 1 1 0 0 0 2 0.779
Mumbai Indians 2 1 1 0 0 2 0.225
Punjab Kings 1 1 0 0 0 2 0.2
Royal Challengers Bangalore 1 1 0 0 0 2 0.05
Kolkata Knight Riders 2 1 1 0 0 2 0
Rajasthan Royals 1 0 1 0 0 0 -0.2
Sunrisers Hyderabad 1 0 1 0 0 0 -0.5
Chennai Super Kings 1 0 1 0 0 0 -0.779

For orange cap list, click here

For purple cap list, click here