Irani Cup 2019, Vidarbha vs ROI, Day 5, Review: Vidarbha secure Irani Trophy; make it a perfect end to the season

The Vidarbha boys won everyone's hearts with their gesture to donate the prize money to the martyrs of Pulwama Attack.

Vidarbha team
Vidarbha team. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Suryesh M


View : 2.9K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

For the second time in a row, Vidarbha sealed the Irani Trophy to end the 2018-19 season on a high. With both the skippers deciding to call it an end, the hosts were declared the winners due to the 1st innings lead. Even though the team tried hard to bag an unmitigated win, their efforts weren’t really enough on the last day of play.

Atharwa Taide and Ganesh Satish played great knocks on day-5. Both of them got past their half-centuries but missed out on converting it into triple figures. The ROI bowlers, despite the sporting declaration on day-4, failed to put the pressure back on the opposition. The Vidarbha boys won everyone’s hearts with their gesture to donate the prize money to the martyrs of Pulwama Attack.

It is a double of Ranji and Irani for Vidarbha

Continuing their innings from 37/1 on day-4, Sanjay Raghunath and Atharwa Taide put up a partnership of 116 runs together. Rahul Chahar dismissed the former for 42 to pick the first wicket of the day. Taide also fell soon after this for 72 runs. Ganesh Satish, with some support from Mohit Kale, put on a good show. Kale added 37 runs to his tally before Dharmendrasinh Jadeja got the better of him.

He was looking good until Hanuma Vihari dismissed him on 87. While his teammates were expecting a century from Satish, he left everyone shocked as he attempted a big shot out of the blue. That prompted Faiz Fazal to call his men back as per the wishes of Ajinkya Rahane, the skipper of ROI. Even though they could have gone on to chase the target down, the skippers agreed upon not stretching the game further.

Brief Scores:

Rest of India, 1st Innings: 330/10 in 89.4 overs (Hanuma Vihari 114, Mayank Agarwal 95, Aditya Sarwate 3/99)

Vidarbha, 1st Innings: 425/10 in 142.2 overs (Akshay Karnewar 102, Akshay Wadkar 73, Rahul Chahar 4/112)

Rest of India, 2nd Innings: 374/3 d in 107 overs (Hanuma Vihari 180*, Ajinkya Rahane 87, Aditya Sarwate 2/141)

Vidarbha, 2nd innings: 269/5 in 103.1 overs (Ganesh Satish 87, Atharwa Taide 72, Rahul Chahar 2/116)

Match Result: Vidarbha won by 1st innings lead – Match drawn.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian domestic cricket, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on