Irfan Pathan and Gautam Gambhir to commentate live on India's 2007 T20 World Cup final victory

Irfan Pathan and Gautam Gambhir to commentate live on India’s 2007 T20 World Cup final victory

Both the players will relive their own performance commentating in Hindi.

Irfan Pathan and Gautam Gambhir
Irfan Pathan and Gautam Gambhir. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Indian cricket changed forever after the team won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 in South Africa by defeating the arch-rivals Pakistan. Irfan Pathan was named Man of the Match in the final for his sensational bowling figures of 3/16 defending 157. Gautam Gambhir was another hero for India who had smashed 75 off just 54 deliveries in the title clash to help the team post a formidable total.

And the two heroes in India’s history will relive their own magic and the team’s performance on Friday. Irfan and Gambhir will commentate live on the 2007 T20 World Cup final between India and Pakistan. Star Sports will telecast the whole match once again on April 17 at 3 PM.

Rather the sports channel has been telecasting some epic matches from the past to keep the fans entertained at home during this lockdown period. After showing all the India vs Pakistan matches in the 50-over World Cup earlier, they decided to help fans relive India’s memorable journey in the T20 World Cup 2007.

India’s journey in 2007 T20 World Cup

2007 was a foregettable year for India until the T20 World Cup heist. The team was knocked out of the 50-over World Cup in the very first round and there was a lot of controversy around Greg Chappell, the then head coach, who was eventually sacked after the mega event. Also, with the likes of Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly deciding not to play the T20 format, not many were interested in the World Cup either.

MS Dhoni was leading a young team and not many gave India even a chance to win it. But the team performed above expectations and it literally took Yuvraj Singh to hit six sixes off Stuart Broad to seek the country’s attention. And since then, all went India’s way as they defeated stronger teams like South Africa and Australia en route the final.

In the title-clash, they were up against the arch-rivals Pakistan whom they had defeated in the league stage via bowl out after the match was tied. The rivalry lived up to its billing in the final, as the game went down to the last over only for India to clinch it and create history.