'It's gamble time'- Jofra Archer reveals Morgan's strategy which led to England winning the World Cup in 2019

‘It’s gamble time’- Jofra Archer reveals Morgan’s strategy which led to England winning the World Cup in 2019

Jofra Archer bowled the super over for the English side in 2019 WC .

Jofra Archer
Jofra Archer. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images for ECB)

Express pacer Jofra Archer has paid a heartfelt tribute to former England skipper Eoin Morgan on his retirement from the international arena. The speedster also revealed how Morgan’s strategy helped the Three Lions win the final match of the 2019 World Cup against New Zealand.

To note, England went on to play the finals of the World Cup three times but could never manage to win the trophy. However, all of that changed after England under the leadership of Morgan won the prized trophy in one of the most entertaining matches in cricket history.

England won the final match by boundary count

“To be honest, it took some comprehension because it was so unexpected. The one on-field episode of the 2019 World Cup I will always remember came right at the end when I was bowling the super over in the final against New Zealand at Lord’s. New Zealand needed three runs off two balls to win when Eoin Morgan came to me and said, ‘Right, it’s gamble time, what are we going to do to get a wicket or dot ball?” Archer wrote in his column for Daily Mail.

“I told him I wanted to bowl a bouncer. He asked me if I was sure and I said, ‘Yeah’. ‘Ok then’, he said. ‘Let’s set a field for it’. I didn’t expect him to let me bowl that particular ball because it’s a pretty high risk, and although it turned out to be the right delivery in costing just one run, looking back I might have done things differently,” he added.

While Archer is still not available to represent England, Morgan will be seen donning the commentator’s hat during the white-ball matches between the Men in Blue and England. After the fifth and final Test match between India and the Three Lions, a three-match T20I series will take place from July 7 (Thursday) and then the same number of ODI matches will be played between the two nations which will commence on July 12 (Tuesday).