IPL Purple Cap Winners | Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2023

Imran Tahir won the Purple Cap last year.

Yuzvendra Chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

View : 913

19 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The launch of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 ushered new paradigms in all facets of the game. It handed a terrific platform for the youngsters to collaborate with the seasoned cricketers and make a name for themselves. The league has been instrumental in transforming the future of Indian cricket and has also led to greater success in the global ICC events since its inception.

The competitive environment in the lucrative T20 league has helped players push their limits and produce their best results. It has assisted players to be more effective and resilient when performing against rival teams. With this, the league introduced a set of awards in order to recognise the achievements of the players throughout the duration of the event.

Bowler’s Dream Award in IPL

The top-tier league introduced a token of appreciation in the form of the ‘Purple Cap’ for the bowlers. It is awarded to the recipient with the most wickets in the particular season. Much like the ‘Orange Cap’, a player dons a temporary purple cap while fielding during the course of the competition while in contention for the award.

After the conclusion of the Finals of the IPL, the Purple Cap is formally presented to the player with most wickets scalped in the season. It rotates till the conclusion of the season, and the honour is formally presented during the post-match presentation of the league’s Final.

The Purple Cap Saga

Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir was the first bowler to be awarded the Purple Cap in 2008. In the particular season, he took 22 wickets in 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler among the list of winners of the Purple Cap to have won it consecutively in 2016 and 2017.

With 32 wickets, Dwayne Bravo and Harshal Patel hold the record for scalping the most wickets in a single season of the IPL. RP Singh in 2009 became the first Indian cricketer to have won the award for Deccan Chargers (now defunct). Yuzvendra Chahal held the cap in 2022 as he got 27 wickets in 17 matches for Rajasthan Royals.    

List of Purple Cap Winners in IPL:-

2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 22
2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 21
2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 28
2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 32
2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 26
2018 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 24
2019 Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings 26
2020 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals 30
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 32
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 27

*Last Updated on 16th March 2023