List of records Sanju Samson broke during his unbeaten 212 against Goa

All the records and numbers from Sanju Samson and Kerala created in the game against Goa:

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson. (Photo Source: Instagram)
Sampath Bandarupalli

Sr. Statistician

View : 451

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Amidst all the voices around Sanju Samson on his inclusion in the Indian limited-overs side, the Kerala keeper scored an unbeaten double century on Saturday. The 24-year-old scored 212* off 129 deliveries in the Vijay Hazare Trophy game against Goa with 21 fours and 10 maximums.

Samson completed his fifty in only 30 balls and took 36 more deliveries for his hundred which brought an end to his 86-match wait for a List A century. He was well supported by Sachin Baby (127) as the duo shared a record 338-run stand for the 3rd wicket. Kerala ended up with a huge score of 377/3 in their 50 overs and won the game by 104 runs.

All the records and numbers from Sanju Samson and Kerala created in the game against Goa:

1 – Sanju Samson became the first Indian to score a List A double century while not opening the innings. Six Indian players accounted for 8 List A double tons prior to Samson, all while opening the innings. The Kerala batsman scored 212* while batting at No.3, the 4th highest List A score by an Indian and also the 4th highest List A score by a non-opener.

D’Arcy Short scored 257 while batting at No.3 in the last year’s Australia One-Day Cup match, the 3rd highest List A score by any player. Graeme Pollock scored an unbeaten 222 while batting at No.4 in 1974 in South Africa One-Day Cup while Ben Duckett scored 220* also at No.3 for England Lions in 2016.

Stats: Double centuries by Indian batsmen in List-A cricket

1 – Samson also became the first Indian to convert his maiden List A century into a double century. Only three players before Samson converted their maiden List A ton in the 200 but none of them scored as high as 212* which Samson made on Saturday. Alan Barrow is the only player to score a double century List A debut for Natal in the 1975/76 season against South Africa African XI.


212* – Sanju Samson’s unbeaten 212 is now the highest individual score by a wicketkeeper in List A cricket. The previous highest is by Abid Ali who scored 209* for Islamabad in the 2018 National One-Day Cup against Peshawar.

Stats: Sanju Samson slams the highest individual score by a wicketkeeper in List-A cricket

This is also the highest individual score by any player in Vijay Hazare Trophy history surpassing Karn Kaushal’s 202 for Uttarakhand against Sikkim last year. Samson and Kaushal are the only double centurions in Indian domestic one-day games.

10 – Number of sixes Sanju Samson struck during his unbeaten 212; the joint 2nd most by any player in a Vijay Hazare Trophy match. Vishnu Vinod’s 11 sixes against Chhattisgarh earlier this week are the most by a player in a VHT game.

99 – The Kerala No.3 completed his 150 in 99 balls; the joint 4th fastest by an Indian in List A cricket. Dinesh Karthik got his 150 against Hyderabad during the 2010/11 season from only 80 balls.

125 – Balls Samson needed for his double century; the fastest double century in List A format by an Indian. Karn Kaushal’s double ton and Shikhar Dhawan’s 248* against South Africa A in 2013 came in 132 balls. Samson’s knock is also the 3rd quickest double-century where milestones data is recorded. Travis Head in 2015 and Ben Duckett in 2016 brought up their double centuries in 117 and 123 balls respectively.

Stats: Sanju Samson smashes fastest double-hundred among Indians in List-A cricket

128 – The previous highest List A score for Kerala is only 128 by C Hemanth Kumar against Tamil Nadu in 2002/03. Samson scored 84 runs more than the previous highest while Sachin Baby finished 3rd in the list with 127.

338 – The partnership of 338 between Sanju Samson and Sachin Baby is the first-ever triple century partnership in the Vijay Hazare Trophy history. This also is the highest partnership for any wicket in List A cricket by an Indian pair.

They thus broke the record held by Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid with a 2nd wicket partnership of 331 against New Zealand in 1999 Hyderabad ODI. Samson-Baby stand is the highest for 3rd wicket in List A cricket as well. The previous highest stand for the 3rd wicket was 309* by Tim Curtis and Tom Moody for Worcestershire against Surrey in 1994.


377/3 – Kerala’s total of 377/3 is their highest in List A cricket surpassing the 358/3 which they posted against Hyderabad during the 2009/10 season.

4 – The Kerala skipper Robin Uthappa became the 4th Indian to be dismissed ‘obstructing the field’ in List A cricket. Mohinder Amarnath in an ODI against Sri Lanka in 1989 was the first Indian to be dismissed obstructing field in a List A match. Sheldon Jackson in the 2016/17 season and Manan Vohra in the ongoing tournament are the other two Indians to be dismissed in this fashion in List A cricket.