IPL 2024: List of Super Overs in IPL history

IPL Super over rules and regulations.

View : 12.6K

12 Min Read

Chennai Super kings.
Chennai Super kings. (Photo Source: BCCI/IPL)

The mega cricket carnival Indian Premier League (IPL) has acted as a source of joy and excitement for its fans over the years. This excitement reaches the next level when the match goes to the last ball. The fans sense an adrenaline rush when both teams end up with the same total and the result is decided with a Super Over. This is the reason why neutral fans hope for a tie in the final over in case of close matches.

In this article, we will list out all the tied matches which have happened in the IPL history whose results were decided with a Super Over. The first-ever Super Over happened in the 2009 season when the match between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) resulted in a tie. Both the teams had scored 150 runs in their innings in their respective 20 overs.

During the Super Over, KKR scored 15 runs with Chris Gayle hitting three fours. For RR, Yusuf Pathan smashed the required 16 runs in only four balls against Ajantha Mendis to help the team win the game. In the next season, Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) played a Super Over as they ended up with the same total of 136 runs. PBKS won the match in the Super Over chasing the required 10 runs in four balls against the legendary Muttiah Muralitharan.

For the 2011 and 2012 seasons, there were no tied matches, however, in 2013, the results of two matches were decided in Super Overs. In the 21st match in 2013, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) scored 152/7 in a chase of 153 runs against Delhi Capitals (DC). RCB needed to chase 12 runs in six balls, and Chris Gayle along with AB de Villiers, went out to bat. Only three runs were scored on the first four balls, but AB de Villiers hit consecutive sixes on the last two to win an electrifying game for his team.

In the same season, RCB again played a Super Over against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in a tied match.  However, this time they lost as they failed to chase the required 20 runs in six balls. In IPL 2014, RR won the super over against KKR courtesy of some sensational batting by Steve Smith. After a gap of two years, a Super Over occurred in IPL 2017 with the now-defunct Gujarat Lions (GL) and Mumbai Indians (MI).

MI won the game due to the sheer bowling genius of Jasprit Bumrah in the Super Over. In IPL 2019, DC won the game in the Super Over against KKR as Kagiso Rabada displayed his bowling prowess in the end. Later, MI won the tied match in the Super Over against SRH in the same season.

The IPL 2020 season was the most exciting in terms of close matches as the results of four matches were decided in Super Overs. In fact, the game between Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings saw two Super overs with Punjab clinching yet another thrilling win.

Check out PBKS Schedule with the latest updates on the schedule announcement

On the same day earlier, KKR won the Super Over against SRH in the afternoon game. The first tie of the season was between the RCB and MI, and the former won it with the help of brilliance from AB de Villiers. The Delhi team won the next super over of the season against Punjab.

In IPL 2021, SRH and DC played a thriller game which ended up in a tie. The Delhi team was able to register a win in the super over as they chased down the required total of 8 runs. As of now, fans around the globe are eagerly waiting for the IPL 2024 cricket extravaganza as the teams have ramped up their preparations and skill level leaving fans to sit on the edge of their seats to experience some thrilling rivalry between the teams.

IPL Super Over Rules:

  1. The Super Over should start 10 minutes after the end of the second innings.
  2. The team batting second in the game will bat first in the Super Over.
  3. Super Over should be played on the same pitch as the match.
  4. The umpires should stay at the same end as the last over of the match.
  5. The fielding side can choose the side they want to bowl from.
  6. Fielding restrictions should remain the same as the last over of the match.
  7. Only three batters (two wickets) and one bowler from each of the teams will be allowed to take part in the Super Over.
  8. If the Super Over also ends up in a tie, then a second Super Over will be played. This process will go on until a winner is decided. However, this should happen within a stipulated time.

List of all IPL Super Overs:

Date Teams Venue Match Score Super Over Winner
25/04/2021 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals Chennai 159 Delhi Capitals
18/10/2020 Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings Dubai 176 Punjab Kings
18/10/2020 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders Abu Dhabi 163 Kolkata Knight Riders
29/09/2020 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians Dubai 201 Royal Challengers Bangalore
20/09/2020 Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings Dubai 157 Delhi Capitals
02/05/2019 Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 162 Mumbai Indians
30/03/2019 Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders Delhi 185 Delhi Capitals
29/04/2017 Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians Rajkot 153 Mumbai Indians
21/04/2015 Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad 191 Punjab Kings
29/04/2014 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals Abu Dhabi 152 Rajasthan Royals
07/04/2013 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Hyderabad 130 Sunrisers Hyderabad
16/04/2013 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals Bangalore 152 Royal Challengers Bangalore
21/03/2010 Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings Chennai 136 Punjab Kings
23/04/2009 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals Cape Town 150 Rajasthan Royals

*Last Updated March 16, 2024.

For all the latest IPL live score, news, IPL schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store