MI vs PBKS Head to Head Record in IPL History

Punjab Kings have failed to qualify for the playoff in the last 7 seasons.

View : 1.9K

79 Min Read

KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma
KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The Punjab Kings team have appointed Shikhar Dhawan as their new skipper from 2023 edition. They would be hoping for a change in fortunes as well this season. They have failed to qualify for the playoff in the last 8 editions and ended at the bottom of the points table twice during this phase. Mumbai Indians, on the other hand, is the most successful team in IPL history. In IPL 2021, both the teams won a match each in 2 league stage meetings. In IPL 2022, PBKS defeated MI by 12 runs.

MI vs PBKS Head to Head:

In the 31 matches, both teams have played against each other in IPL history, 16 have been won by Mumbai Indians while the Punjab Kings team have won the rest 15 games. In 2020 season, both the teams were involved in a double super over match with PBKS winning that encounter at the end.

Matches Played MI Won PBKS Won No Result
31 16 15 0

All-Time Top Performers:

Among the current players, Rohit Sharma has scored the most runs (566) in the T20 games played between MI and PBKS in the IPL. He is followed by Kieron Pollard (539) and Shaun Marsh (526).  In the bowling department, Lasith Malinga is at the top spot with 22 wickets, followed by Jasprit Bumrah (20) and Harbhajan Singh (16).

Mumbai vs Punjab in Last Seasons:

MI and PBKS met in the 46th match of the IPL 2023 at IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. PBKS batted first,Liam Livingstone (82*) and Jitesh Sharma (49*), helped them post huge total of 214/3 in 20 overs.  In response to 214, Ishan Kishan (75) and Suryakumar , along with quick cameos from Tilak Varma and Tim Davis helped MI to Chase 215 in 18.5 overs and eventually Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets. 

Mumbai vs Punjab in All Seasons Stats:

Date Winner Won by Venue
03 - May-2023 MI 6 wickets Mohali
22 - Apr - 2023 PBKS 13 Runs Mumbai
13-Apr-2022 PBKS 12 Runs Pune
28-Sept-2021 MI 6 wickets Abu Dhabi
23-Apr-2021 PBKS 9 wickets Chennai
18-Oct-2020 PBKS Super over Dubai
01-Oct-2020 MI 48 runs Abu Dhabi
10-Apr-2019 MI 3 wickets Mumbai
30-Mar-2019 PBKS 8 wickets Mohali
16-May-2018 MI 2 wickets Mumbai
04-May-2018 MI 6 wickets Indore
11-May-2017 PBKS 7 runs Mumbai
20-Apr-2017 MI 8 wickets Indore
13-May-2016 PBKS 7 wickets Visakhapatnam
25-Apr-2016 MI 25 runs Mohali
03-May-2015 MI 23 runs Mohali
12-Apr-2015 PBKS 18 runs Mumbai
21-May-2014 MI 7 wickets Mohali
03-May-2014 MI 5 wickets Mumbai
18-May-2013 PBKS 50 runs Dharamshala
29-Apr-2013 MI 4 runs Mumbai
25-Apr-2012 MI 4 wickets Mohali
22-Apr-2012 PBKS 6 wickets Mumbai
10-May-2011 PBKS 76 runs Mohali
02-May-2011 MI 23 runs Mumbai
09-Apr-2010 PBKS 6 wickets Mohali
30-Mar-2010 MI 4 wickets Mumbai (BS)
12-May-2009 MI 8 wickets Centurion
29-Apr-2009 PBKS 3 runs Durban
21-May-2008 PBKS 1 run Mumbai
25-Apr-2008 PBKS 66 runs Mohali


Last Updated: 22 April, 2023.
For all the latest IPL news, live scores, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store