PCB sanctions only eight PSL matches to be held in Pakistan

PCB sanctions only eight PSL matches to be held in Pakistan

The PSL will host just the eight matches in Pakistan for the upcoming season.

PSL 2017
Players from the Islamabad United team celebrate winning the final of the Pakistan Super League against Quetta Gladiators at the Dubai cricket stadium on February 23, 2016. (Photo by STRINGER/AFP/Getty Images)

The Pakistan Super League will now be entering yet another season following the previous season that saw the numbers rise ever so slightly. However, the bottom line of the ordeal, as far as Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Najam Sethi was concerned was the fact that most of the matches will be played within the country. In addition to this, the previous season of the PSL saw the playoffs played in Pakistan.

It would indeed make sense that a majority of the matches are indeed played within the country. This comes after Afghanistan began planning a T20 League, a domestic one, that would be played in the United Arab Emirates. In recent times, the PSL has been played in both Sharjah and Abu Dhabi after the ICC levied sanctions on the country.

In 2009, the touring Sri Lankan cricket team were attacked by terrorists, an event which ensured that the sanctions were indeed levied on the side. Since then, the Gaddafi Stadium and the National Stadium in Lahore has seen a very limited amount of international cricket being played.

Franchises express confidence to play in Pakistan

A meeting was held between all the franchises where there were talks to build a hotel within the Gadaffi Stadium to accomodate the players. The meeting also ensured that all the franchises did indeed pay their dues with the decision to play cricket in the country as well.

“All franchises expressed full confidence in the PCB’s attempts to bring more PSL matches to Pakistan. It was decided that at least eight matches will be held in Pakistan next year,” PCB said in a statement.

[interaction id=”5b24f95242cbb714a71a7821″]

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with CricTracker.com.