Piers Morgan doesn’t feature Dravid in his all-time India Test XI, fans don’t quite agree

Someone claimed Morgan picked the XI while he was high.

Piers Morgan
Piers Morgan. (Photo by Juan Ocampo/NHLI via Getty Images)

Indian Test side is currently ranked number 1 in the world. Over the years with consistent performances have helped the side in becoming one of the best Test sides in the world. Players like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh have played a massive role India’s dominance in world cricket.

The trend of naming their all-time XIs from around the world or for a particular team has been around for a while now. England’s TV personality Piers Morgan recently named his all-time India Test XI when asked on micro-blogging site Twitter.


No Dravid in the side, Dhoni the captain

To everyone’s surprise, Rahul Dravid was missing from the XI named by reality TV judge who often criticises the ECB and their director, Andrew Strauss. Morgan who was of the thought that England didn’t do justice with South Africa born English player Kevin Petersen.

Dravid who is currently coaching the juniors of Indian cricket played 164 Tests for India. With the help of 36 centuries to his name, Dravid scored over 13000 runs in Test cricket. Regarded as The Wall, he was one of the best number three players in the world. Dravid also scored over 10000 runs in the ODIs and one would expect him to be a part of all-time World XI in Tests.

This wasn’t the case with Morgan as he skipped the name and he placed current India skipper Virat Kohli as his number three batsman in his side. Former Indian captain MS Dhoni leads Morgan’s team while little master Sachin Tendulkar finds his spot at number 4 in the side.

Fans questioned why isn’t Dravid in his side and the same was questioned by former English player Rob Key as he felt Dravid should have been there in the side instead of VVS Laxman.

Here Piers Morgan’s the all-time India Test XI

Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, MS Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath, Bishan Singh Bedi, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble

Here are some of the best replies