Reliving the magical moments of the Indian Premier League Final, over the years

Reliving the magical moments of the Indian Premier League Final, over the years

How much do you remember about the previous IPL Finals?

IPL 2018
IPL trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Indian Premier League has completely changed the way cricket is seen. Since its inception in 2008, the league has improved leaps and bounds. It is the most popular cricket league in the world with high-profile players all across the globe taking part in it. The league always brings the best out of the cricketers and entertains the fans to the core. In addition, the league is also one that unearths new talent, many of whom have gone ahead and played for their respective countries as well.

With the 11th season of the Indian Premier League just a few days away, the excitement for the league is sky-rocketing. Also, all the teams will go into the league this year with a new look and the fans just can’t wait to watch their favorite franchises in action. Winning the title is something that guarantees glory for the side and a better reputation the following season.

Since the IPL has completed a decade since it’s inception, let us relive the magical moments of all the IPL Finals till date.

1. Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals – IPL 2008

IPL 2008 champions
IPL 2008 champions. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The first season of the IPL was quite a competitive one, to say the least. While the Rajasthan Royals and the Kings XI Punjab made it to the semi-finals, the third and fourth places had to be hard fought for. As many as four teams competed for this position with Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils making it through the cut-off. Both RR and CSK defeated DD and KXIP in the semi-finals to make an entry into the first ever IPL final.

The 2008 IPL Final was a cracker of a game and it has shown the Indian fans how interesting T20 cricket could get. The game was played in the DY Patil Cricket Stadium in Mumbai. The Rajasthan Royals under Shane Warne elected to field after winning the toss. Put into bat first, the Chennai Super Kings scored 163 in their 20-overs quota. MS Dhoni promoted himself up the order and scored a quick-fire 29 off 17 balls. He alongside Suresh Raina ensured that they put a commanding total on the board.

At that point in time, chasing 164 was quite a herculean task. However, the Royals didn’t exhibit any nervousness. Although they lost some early wickets, Shane Watson alongside Yusuf Pathan ensured that the game was in their hands. They were sailing through smoothly until CSK came back into the game with some quick wickets. Yusuf Pathan was out in the 18th over and the onus was on Warne and Sohail Tanvir to finish off the chase. These two showed some extraordinary grit and didn’t let any wickets fall and also finished off the chase in the last ball.

Top Performers of the season

Rajasthan Royals won by 3 wickets to clinch the first ever IPL Trophy. Yusuf Pathan was adjudged the ‘Man of the Match’ and Shane Watson was the ‘Player of the Series’.

Brief Scores:
CSK: 163/5 in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 43, MS Dhoni 29*, Yusuf Pathan 3/22)
RR: 164/7 in 20 overs (Yusuf Pathan 56, Shane Watson 28, Albie Morkel 2/25)