Reports: Delhi Capitals to retain Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel and Anrich Nortje for IPL 2022

It has also been reported that Shreyas Iyer has opted to head to the player auction.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 26.7K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The teams are set to change in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with mega auction set to happen ahead of the next season. Two new franchises have also been added to the extravaganza who will get a chance to pick three players before the auction. However, the existing teams have also been allowed to retain four players and if the reports are to be believed, Delhi Capitals have zeroed in on their options.

The franchise has been doing well since the 2019 edition making it to the playoffs for three consecutive IPL seasons. They also made it to the final of IPL 2020 only to lose it to Mumbai Indians who won the trophy for the record fifth time. Even this season, DC looked a formidable side and topped the points table but lost two back to back matches to get knocked out of the tournament.

Delhi Capitals have decided to retain their skipper Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje and Axar Patel according to reports in ESPNCricinfo. Pant was named the captain for the season after Shreyas Iyer dislocated his shoulder and was ruled out of the tournament earlier this year in March. He returned for the second leg though and played under Pant.

Iyer opts to head to the player auction

The report also stated that Shreyas Iyer opted to head to the player auction where more teams will be on the look out for him. It has also been reported that Pant is the first retained player for the Capitals with Prithvi Shaw being the second.

As for other retentions, Nortje has been the team’s top bowler for the last couple of seasons thanks to his pace and accuracy. Axar Patel made a name for himself with his tight left-arm spin bowling while Prithvi Shaw is the one to watch out for in near future as well. The retentions are set to be announced officially on November 30 and it will be interesting to see if the franchise makes any last minute changes to their list.