Ricky Ponting reveals the reason behind Australia's run-riot in three World Cups

The World Cup winning skipper feels that Australia team had the best players and they have never given up on their dream of clinching prestigious World Cups

Ricky Ponting of Australia. (Photo by Hamish Blair/Getty Images)
Ricky Ponting. (Photo by Hamish Blair/Getty Images)

View : 2.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Whenever someone speaks about the dominant teams in the history of cricket there will always be two names that will come forth unanimously. The West Indies team of the 80s and 90s and the Australian team of the 2000s which reigned over the cricketing world like dynasties. The Windies team won two back-to-back World Cup titles in 1975 and 1979 and their record was only bettered by Australia, who won three titles in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

Steve Waugh led the Men in Yellow in the 1999 edition played in England, which had a young Ricky Ponting in the ranks; who later captained the team to 2003 World Cup win in South Africa and 2007 title win in West Indies. In all, the Australian team has a record five titles to their name including the 1987 win under Allan Border and 2015 win under Michael Clarke. They will be looking forward to defending their title in England once again under Aaron Finch, with Ricky Ponting serving as the assistant coach of the team.

Ponting reveals how Australia won three World Cup titles consecutively

The former Australia skipper, who has joined the Aussie squad in Southampton, revealed that the side in the 2000s was by far the best team in the world in that time. He revealed that the team had the same players playing in the 1999 and 2003 World Cups which helped them extend their supremacy in the cricketing world.

I think Australia was by far the best team in that period. We had top-class bowlers, an excellent bowling attack and a super team spirit. We almost maintained the same nucleus of players in the first two (of those) World Cups (we won consecutively),” Ponting was quoted as saying by Times of India.

The team featured the likes of Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, Michael Bevan, Adam Gilchrist forming the nucleus of the two teams, with the likes of Matthew Hayden, Brett Lee, Michael Kasprowicz, Shane Warne, and Mark Waugh performing well in either of the tournaments.

This time around, the Baggy Greens will be led by Aaron Finch, who was part of the 2015 title-winning team. He will lead the clan of Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, and Glenn Maxwell being the few of the players being retained from the previous tournament.