Rohit Sharma left with a frustrated smile after Rishabh Pant’s poor DRS call
India lost the match by 7 wickets in 1st T20I against Bangladesh.
Updated - Nov 4, 2019 4:25 pm
Rishabh Pant is going through one of the worst days in his cricket career with one coming against Bangladesh in 1st T20I when he went wrong in Chahal’s over. And, at one point Rohit Sharma, the stand-in skipper of the team was left giggling after screwing-up an important review after getting convinced by the Indian wicketkeeper.
The 10th over of Yuzvendra Chahal turned out to be an eventful one for Team India. The skipper didn’t take the right decision in the match when it was needed. It all went between Rohit Sharma and Pant, who goofed up the DRS in one over.
Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant goofed up reviews in 1st T20I
During the 10th over of the match, Rishabh Pant appealed for a catch on the fifth delivery in order to dismiss Bangladesh batsman Soumya Sarkar. He thought that the ball had come into his gloves taking the edge of the bat, and asked Rohit to go for the review. But, in the ultra edge, it showed a flat line as the ball went past the bat. After the decision went against the team, the Indian skipper was left with a frustrating smile on his face and also pointed towards the Indian wicketkeeper.
Here is the video
— Jagadhish D (@MSdhoni7788) November 3, 2019
In the same over on the second ball of the over, Chahal appealed for a leg before wicket against Mushafiqur Rahim, but the umpire was not convinced with it. The Indian spinner then asked Rishabh Pant about the ball hitting the stump, and he also denied, so they didn’t go for a review. Later on, in the replay, it was clearly visible that the ball had impacted in line and was hitting the stumps.
India should have gone for that review against Mushfiqur Rahim, who remained unbeaten on 60 and helped his side to register a historic win against the hosts. In the press conference, Rohit also accepted the fact that they missed quite a few chances as they couldn’t utilize their reviews at the right time and also explained what happened on the field.
“The reviews were a mistake from our side, not to talk about it at least, and the first ball he played on the back foot, we thought it was going down leg, and the next one on the front foot, but we forgot how short he is,” Indian skipper said during the press meet.