Sanjay Manjrekar takes sly dig at Rahul Gandhi after election results

Sanjay Manjrekar takes sly dig at Rahul Gandhi after election results

Manjrekar is rather famous in the cricketing circles for his unpopular opinions.

Sanjay Manjrekar
Sanjay Manjrekar. (Photo Source: Instagram)

Former India batsman Sanjay Manjrekar usually talks about cricket on his social media. The cricketer-turned-commentator remains in the news more often than not only because of his comments on the game. In fact, it would not be entirely wrong to say that Manjrekar is one of the most if not the most criticised commentators in the nation. And the reason is obviously his comments on the game that make many fans feel that he is a bit biased.

Well, in his latest act Manjrekar has tried his hands at something new. He took to Twitter to give his verdict on Bharatiya Janta Party’s (BJP) landslide win in the general elections with a touch of cheekiness. Narendra Modi is set for a second term as the Prime Minister after BJP won 303 seats alone. On the other hand, the oppositions including the mighty Congress suffered a crushing loss in the elections. The oldest political party in the country, Congress managed to win only 52 seats.

And as soon as the results came out, their party president Rahul Gandhi was heavily trolled on social media. Gandhi is often mocked as Pappu for his silly speeches and Manjrekar could not stop himself from taking a dig at him either. Manjrekar took to Twitter to post a cheeky tweet which had a pun, writing:

“Cricketing equivalent of BJP win is India beating Papu New Guinea.”

Manjrekar in commentary panel:

Manjrekar, meanwhile, is currently in England for the World Cup. The former India international is a part of the star-studded commentary panel announced by the International Cricket Council. Along with Manjrekar, Sourav Ganguly and Harsha Bhogle are the two other Indians in the panel that includes the likes of Nasser Hussain, Ian Bishop, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Atherton, Brendon McCullum, Graeme Smith and Wasim Akram.

The lineup of commentators also includes prominent names such as Shaun Pollock, Michael Slater, Mark Nicholas, Michael Holding, Isa Guha, Pommie Mbangwa, Melanie Jones, Harsha Bhogle, Simon Doull, Ian Smith, Ramiz Raja, Alison Mitchell, Athar Ali Khan and Ian Ward. The World Cup will get underway on May 30. Currently, the ten teams are busy playing their warm-up games.