'That great man ended up walking onto the field' - Shane Watson recalls hilarious fair play incident featuring MS Dhoni

Watson recalled the time when he joined CSK camp and was schooled by Captain Cool himself.

View : 379

2 Min Read

Shane Watson and MS Dhoni
info
Shane Watson and MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Every cricket fan remembers the incident when MS Dhoni walked onto the field midway through an Indian Premier League match. The incident occurred over confusion at the umpire's end, as the then skipper furiously charged onto the turf engaging in a heated discussion with the on-field umpires. Former Chennai Super Kings (CSK) all-rounder, Shane Watson, has given a hilarious backdrop concerning the conduct of the field preached by Dhoni.

Watson recalled the time when he joined CSK camp and was schooled by the Chennai skipper. He revealed that Dhoni had shown little hope of winning the 'Fairplay' award with Watson around. He then went on to draw a parallel with the wicketkeeper-batter breaching the code of conduct in one of the league games in IPL 2019.

Also Check: IPL Record - List of all-time IPL Records & Stats - CricTracker

“I remember the first time that I played at CSK and one of the first things MS Dhoni said to the whole group was 'Whatever we do, we want to win the FairPlay award but now that we've got you Watson (Shane Watson) the chance of us winning that has significantly reduced.' And then, that great man ended up walking onto the field in one game and I was like well…. Maybe not!,” the Aussie said while recalling the incident on JioCinema.

Here's the video of Watson recalling the hilarious moment:

Dhoni incident was highlight of 2019 season

The infamous incident took place when the Chennai-based franchise met Rajasthan Royals in a league game during the 2019 edition of the highly-anticipated tournament. With three runs remaining off the same number of balls, the match went down to the wire. RR’s Ben Stokes bowled a high full toss to Mitchell Santner which was above the waist level. The umpire, Ulhas Gandhe, termed the delivery a no-ball, however, the decision was subsequently overturned by the leg umpire Bruce Oxenford.

Also Read: 'They wear sunglasses on the top of the cap' — Rohit Sharma spills the beans on players' excuses for dropped catches

Ravindra Jadeja, who was at the non-striker's end, was seen having an argument with umpires over the conundrum. Meanwhile, Dhoni, also known as Captain Cool, was frustrated by the turn of events mishaps and barged onto the field. Eventually, Chennai won the last-over thriller by four wickets.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

googletelegraminstagramwhatsappyoutubethreadstwitter

Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store