South Africa announce squad for the series against Ireland and Australia

Andile Phehlukwayo South Africa
Andile Phehlukwayo of South Africa. (Photo by Ian Hitchcock – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced the South African squad for the home series against Ireland and Australia. The national selectors named three new players in the ODI team in the likes of – Temba Bavuma, Dwaine Pretorius and Andile Phehlukwayo.

Dale Steyn and David Miller will make a comeback to the team from the one that flew to the Caribbean islands for the Tri-Series 2016 featuring hosts West Indies and Australia. Morne Morkel and Rilee will make way for them.


After announcing the squad and the changes CSA Selection Committee Convener Linda Zondi said, “Morne Morkel and Rilee Rossouw were not considered for selection as they continue to recover from injury and a lack of match fitness respectively, while AB de Villiers is on track to return from the injury that kept him out of the Sunfoil Test Series against New Zealand,”

While Bavuma who is a regular feature in the Test squad and Pretorius have been picked only for the series against the Irish Phehlukwayo’s name is present in the team for both the series.

Also read – I think most of the England players will tour Bangladesh: Trevor Bayliss

“Andile was our leading wicket-taker for South Africa A in the recently concluded quadrangular series in Australia,” Zondi added, “and he has been knocking on the door for some time following his strong performances in last season’s Momentum One-Day Cup.

“Both he and Dwaine have shown excellent form recently and the same applies to David Miller who topped the batting averages in Australia for the South Africa A squad with the outstanding figures of 332 runs at an average of 110 with a strike rate of 93.

“It remains our practice to reward players who do well at franchise and South Africa A level.

“As far as Temba Bavuma is concerned we want to see what he can do in the ODI format after the extremely successful run he has had in the Test squad where he has averaged 66 during the current calendar year.

Also read – ISIS magazine reveals encouragement for blowing up SCG and MCG

“Rilee Rossouw played two practices matches for the VKB Knights at the weekend when he batted freely but still had issues with his throwing and it will be beneficial for him to start his comeback in the Sunfoil Series four-day competition which starts early next month,” Zondi said.

South African squad for the series against Ireland:

AB de Villiers (C), Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada

South African squad for the series against Australia:

AB de Villiers (C), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn