Squads for the Qatar T10 League announced

Squads for the Qatar T10 League announced

The inaugural season is set to take place from December 07.

Qatar T10 League
Qatar T10 League. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After the extravaganza of the Abu Dhabi T10 League, it is now time for Qatar T10 League to take place. After the success of the past two editions of the Abu Dhabi T10 League, Qatar Cricket Association is now looking to cash in on the format’s popularity and create its own tournament.

With the inaugural season set to take place from December 07, each of the six franchises have announced their respective squads for the marquee event. Barring a few spots, almost all the squads have been selected by most of the teams (Falcon Hunters, Flying Oryx, Desert Riders, Pearl Gladiators, Heat Stormers and Swift Gallopers).

How do the six squads stack up?

Talking about each of the squads, Heat Stormers have availed the services of players like Punjab and Chennai Super Kings’ all-rounder Manpreet Singh Goni. Apart from Goni, the squad also boasts of a tearaway and swashbuckling wicketkeeper-batsman from Afghanistan Mohammad Shahzad. Shahzad has been out of national reckoning ever since he was sent home midway through the 2019 World Cup and the right-hander will be looking to make ideal use of this opportunity and once again assert his credentials.

Apart from Shahzad and Goni, Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza and Bangladesh’s Naeem Islam, who impressed in his debut series against India are the other overseas attractions.

As far as Swift Gallopers is concerned, former tearaway Pakistan opener Imran Nazir has been named in the set-up along with the likes of former England international Luke Wright, UAE’s spearhead Chirag Suri and Zimbabwe’s all-rounder Richmond Mutumbami.

The Falcon Hunters have named a star-studded squad. From the charismatic Hashim Amla to swashbuckling opener Johnson Charles to former Pakistan opener Salman Butt to England’s Tom Abell, the Hunters have easily the most potent squad, on paper at least.

As far as Flying Oryx is concerned, the squad consists of the Caribbean duo of Andrew Fletcher and Kennar Lewis while Sompal Kami and Afghanistan’s Aftab Alam will also be seen plying their trade.

Pearl Gladiators have added a Pakistani and Sri Lankan flavour to their set-up by selecting the likes of Muhammad Irfan, Mohammad Sami, Ajanta Mendis and Sharjeel Khan to name a few while Desert Riders have availed the services of the likes of Sohail Tanveer, Khurram Manzoor and Oshane Thomas.

Here are all the squads of Qatar T10 League:

Heat Stormers: Manpreet Singh Gony (India), Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan), Naeem Islam (Bangladesh), Mohammad Irfan (Pakistan), Rohit Kumar Paudel (Nepal), Scott Edwards (Netherlands), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Sufyan Mehmood (Oman) and Qatar Players (Owais Ahmed, Raja Amir, Andri Berenger, Dharmang Patel, Imraz Rafi, Talal Ahmed & Afsarullah Khan)

Swift Gallopers: Imran Nazir (Pakistan), Shafiqullah Shafaq (Afghanistan), Luke Wright (England), Danza Hyatt (West Indies), Ansh Tandon (UAE), Chirag Suri (UAE), Raninder Singh (India), Richmond Mutumbami (Zimbabwe) and Qatar Players (Zaheeruddeen, Inam Ul Haq, Sadiq NM, Zainu Dheen, Gayan Wimalshantha & Zahanzeb Ashad) 

Falcon Hunters: Hashim Amla (South Africa), Johnson Charles (West Indies), Salman Butt (Pakistan), Ammad Butt (Pakistan), Saad bin Zafar (Canada), Aqib Ali (Oman), Fayyaz Butt (Oman), Tom Abell (England) and Qatar Players (Iqbal Hussain Chaudhry, Mohammad Rizwan, Kamran Khan, Taimoor Sajjad, Murad Khan, Irshad Umer, Nawaf Pullangadam & Hussain Khan)

Flying Oryx: Andrew Fletcher (West Indies), Hussain Talat (Pakistan), Krishmar Santokie (West Indies), Kennar Lewis (West Indies), Aftab Alam (Afghanistan), Sompal Kami (Nepal), Abdul Shakoor (UAE), Amjad Gul (UAE), Hamandep Singh (Canada), Bilawal Iqbal (Pakistan) and Qatar Players (Noman Sarwar, Musawir Khan, Asif Raja, Imran Ashraf, Jassom Khan & Bilal Butt)

Pearl Gladiators: Mohammad Irfan (Pakistan), Mohammad Sami (Pakistan), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), Sharjeel Khan (Pakistan), Malinda Pushpakumara (Sri Lanka), Afsar Zazai (Afghanistan), Adil Khan (Afghanistan), Karim Sadiq (Afghanistan) and Qatar Players (Faisal Khan, Khurram Shehzad, Muhammad Nafees, Qalander Khan & Saqlain Arshad) (Note: 2 Spots TBA)

Desert Riders: Sohail Tanveer (Pakistan), Khurram Manzoor (Pakistan), Amjad Khan (UAE), Bhupinder Singh (Canada), CP Rizwan (UAE), Oshane Thomas (West Indies), Kithruwan (Sri Lanka), Shahadat Hossain (Bangladesh) and Qatar Players (Awais Malik, Muhammad Tanveer, Mujeeb Khan, Muhammad Ikram, Himanshu Rathod & Imal Malindu Liyanage) (Note: 2 Spots TBA)