Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19: Round 11 - Review

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19: Round 11 – Review

Karanveer Kaushal's 202 off 135 balls remained the talking point of Saturday's fixtures.

karanveer Kaushal
karanveer Kaushal (Photo Source: Twitter)

It was a day where history was scripted in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as Karanveer Kaushal of Uttarakhand became the first cricketer to score a List-A double ton in Indian domestic cricket. His 202 off 135 balls remained the talking point of Saturday’s fixtures whilst rain gods once again spoiled the fun in a few games.

Batting first against Sikkim, Uttarakhand notched 366 runs in the first innings losing just two wickets. Vineet Saxena’s century and Karanveer’s double saw the duo add a whopping 296-run stand for the first wicket. In reply, Sikkim could only manage 167 runs in their 50 overs and handed a 199-run victory to their opponents.

Vidarbha managed to register a much-needed win against Railways in the Elite Group A & B fixture. Batting first, Railways managed to score 226 runs in their 50 overs. Vidarbha had scored 176 for the loss of three wickets in 37 overs when rain stopped play and no action was possible. Vidarbha were adjourned winners by the VJD method by 15 runs.

Chhattisgarh humilate Saurashtra

On paper, Saurashtra is a much better side than Chhattisgarh but as it turned out, the latter won the game with relative ease. Saurashtra got bowled out for 110 runs batting first inside 35 overs with Sumit Ruikar picking up six wickets. Rishabh Tiwary’s fifty helped them win the game by 9 wickets and 154 balls to spare.

Hyderabad and Odisha played out an absolute thriller. Batting first, banking on skipper Govind Poddar’s 93, Odisha scored 247 runs for the loss of eight wickets. In reply, it seemed like Hyderabad were cruising through at 160/2, but some quick wickets derailed them. Eventually, Kolla Sumanth’s perseverance helped them win the thrilling game by one wicket.

Andhra edged out Uttar Pradesh in a high-scoring encounter. The latter side registered a whopping 330 runs thanks to centuries from Samarth Singh and Akshdeep Nath. DB Ravi Teja and Karn Sharma’s exploits with the bat got the side out of the jail and eventually, Andhra won the game by one wicket.

Brief Scores

Andhra vs Uttar Pradesh, Elite Group A & B

Uttar Pradesh: 330/4 in 50 overs (Samarth Singh 115*, Akshdeep Nath 119*)

Andhra: 331/9 in 49.3 overs (DB Ravi Teja 79*, Ashwin Hebbar 64)

Result: Andhra won by 1 wicket

Karnataka vs Himachal Pradesh, Elite Group A & B

Karnataka: 257/8 in 50 overs (Ravikumar Samarth 98; Rishi Dhawan 3/57)

Himachal Pradesh: 162 all out in 25.3 overs (Krishnappa Gowtham 4/26, T Pradeep 4/35)

Result: Karnataka won by 35 runs (VJD Method)

Hyderabad vs Odisha, Elite Group A  & B

Odisha: 247/8 in 50 overs (Govind Poddar 93; Chama Milind 6/26)

Hyderabad: 250/9 in 49.2 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 76, Akshat Reddy 63)

Result: Hyderabad won by 1 wicket

Chhattisgarh vs Saurashtra, Elite Group A & B

Saurashtra: 110 all out in 34.4 overs (Sumit Ruikar 6/26)

Chhattisgarh: 111/1 in 24.2 overs (Rishabh Tiwari 56*)

Result: Chhattisgarh won by 9 wickets

Vidarbha vs Railways, Elite Group A & B

Railways: 226/8 in 50 overs (Madhur Khatri 58; Darshan Nalkande 3/42)

Vidarbha: 176/3 in 37 overs (Ganesh Satish 53*)

Result: Vidarbha won by 15 runs (VJD Method)

Uttarakhand vs Sikkim, Plate

Uttarakhand: 366/2 in 50 overs (Karanveer Kaushal 202, Vineet Saxena 100)

Sikkim: 167/6 in 50 overs (Lee Yong Lepcha 65; Deepak Dhapola 3/19)

Result: Uttarakhand won by 199 runs

Meghalaya vs Manipur, Plate

Meghalaya: 238/5 in 50 overs (Yogesh Nagar 67*)

Manipur: 170 all out in 45.4 overs (Yashpal Singh 106*; Lakhan Singh 3/24)

Result: Meghalaya won by 68 runs

Mizoram vs Nagaland, Plate

Mizoram: 100 all out in 42.2 overs (Inakato Zhimomi 3/8)

Nagaland: 102/2 in 12.5 overs

Result: Nagaland won by 8 wickets

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.