Which players who featured in inaugural IPL match 14 years ago are playing in IPL 2022?

Which players who featured in inaugural IPL match 14 years ago are playing in IPL 2022?

As many as 15 players from the opening edition are still featuring in IPL 2022.

Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni
Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

April 18, 2008 was the day when the T20 festival began in India and it was the New Zealander Brendon McCullum who kicked off the event with a bang. After the success of the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 which India won, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) introduced its own T20 league called the Indian Premier League (IPL). And since then, the T20 carnival has just flourished year after year with its thrilling and enthralling matches.

Speaking about McCullum’s performance 14 years ago on the opening night, the Kiwi power-hitter began the tournament’s journey with his breathtaking innings of 158* off just 73 deliveries. He smashed 13 towering maximums and ten fours to win the opening encounter for his side Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Bangalore.

Termed as the weakest team in the first season, Rajasthan Royals (RR) surprised each and everyone to lift the first IPL title under the leadership of Late Shane Warne. Deccan Chargers, who were labelled as one of the strongest teams in that edition, finished rock bottom in the table.

Over the past 14 seasons, Mumbai Indians (MI) is the most successful franchise as they have clinched the trophy a record five times. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is the second-most successful side as the Yellow Army has won four titles in 12 editions. Notably, the Chennai-based franchise was banned for two years in 2016 and 2017. The third team that tasted success is KKR who won the league twice in the years 2012 and 2014.

Players who appeared in the inaugural 2008 season and are part of IPL 2022:

Players 2008 team 2022 team
Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore
Wriddhiman Saha Kolkata Knight Riders Gujarat Titans
MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings Chennai Super Kings
Rohit Sharma Deccan Chargers Mumbai Indians
Ravindra Jadeja Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings
Shikhar Dhawan Delhi Daredevils (now Capitals) Punjab Kings
Dinesh Karthik Delhi Capitals Royal Challengers Bangalore
Pradeep Sangwan Delhi Capitals Gujarat Titans
Siddarth Kaul Kolkata Knight Riders Royal Challengers Bangalore
R Ashwin Chennai Super Kings Rajasthan Royals
Manish Pandey Mumbai Indians Lucknow Super Giants
Robin Uthappa Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
Dwayne Bravo Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
Ajinkya Rahane Mumbai Indians Kolkata Knight Riders
Rishi Dhawan Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) Punjab Kings

Virat Kohli is the only player to feature for one franchise since the inaugural 2008 season

The 33-year-old Virat Kohli is the only player to play for a single franchise from the 2008 edition till now. Kohli has contested 213 matches for the franchise and is the leading run-getter in the tournament’s history with 6402 runs to his name. The former RCB skipper has slammed five centuries and 42 fifties at an average of 37.00 and the highest score of 113 in his IPL career so far.

Few players who appeared in the 2008 season are still part of the ongoing 2022 edition after 14 long years as well. Talking about the opening match between RCB and KKR, Kohli and Wriddhiman Saha are the only ones who are active from the first match of the IPL to the current edition. IPL changed the life and dynamics of many of these cricketers who featured in the first season and are still playing in the cash-rich league.