Windies name 13-man squad for first two ODIs against India

As far as the Windies are concerned, the upcoming series with India carries great importance on several fronts.

Jason Holder
Windies cricket team captain Jason Holder. (Photo by JEWEL SAMAD/AFP/Getty Images)

The Windies, as they are officially known now, have named an unchanged 13-man squad for their first two ODIs against India. They opted to stick with the same squad which played Afghanistan earlier in June this year. The Windies drew the 3-match ODI series against Afghanistan 1-1 with the third and final game being washed out.

Windies fast bowler Shannon Gabriel will have to wait before he makes an appearance for his side as he continues rehabilitation. Gabriel had picked up an injury which sidelined him from the Afghanistan series. As a result, hosts Windies will be without the services of their premier paceman for the biggest series of their season.


An important series for the Windies

As far as the Windies are concerned, the upcoming series against India carries great importance on several fronts. First, the fact that India will be playing which automatically boosts the television revenues. Furthermore, the series will allow the Windies to avoid an otherwise awkward qualifying round ahead of the 2019 World Cup.

Currently, the Windies are ranked 9th in the ICC ODI rankings. However, only the top 8 teams will qualify automatically for the main event (they will have to secure their position in the top 8 before a stipulated deadline). The India-series is the last realistic chance for the side to make the cut. The drawn series against Afghanistan was of no benefit for the Windies in terms of advancements in the rankings.

India will arrive in the Caribbean after being thrashed by Pakistan in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy. They take on the Windies in the first one-dayer at Port of Spain’s Queen’s Park Oval on June 23. The venue for the 2nd ODI remains unchanged, while the 3rd and 4th ODIs will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua. The scene then moves to Sabina Park in Kingston for the 5th ODI and the only T20 between the two teams.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kesrick Williams