Windies vs England: Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC after Joe Root exchange

Windies vs England: Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC after Joe Root exchange

Root said he hoped the incident would not tarnish the series.

Shannon Gabriel
Shannon Gabriel. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Windies pacer Shannon Gabriel has been charged by the International Cricket Council (ICC) following an incident with England captain Joe Root in the recently-concluded third Test. Gabriel was seen being involved in a heated exchange with Root and Joe Denly on the third day of the game. The stump mics, however, failed to pick up the exact words from Gabriel although it is being speculated that Gabriel had launched a homophobic slur towards the English duo.

The drama ended with Root telling Gabriel: “Don’t use it as an insult. There’s nothing wrong with being gay.” The on-field umpire was later seen talking to Gabriel with later reports suggesting that the Windies pacer had received a warning. However, no other action was taken initially.

But with the incident attracting widespread media attention, the ICC decided to take action on Tuesday. The governing confirmed that Gabriel was charged as per reports in Cricbuzz. The charge is under article 2.13, which relates to the personal abuse of a player, player support personnel, umpire or match referee during an international match.

“Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further,” read the statement from the ICC.

You have responsibility to go about things:

Following the conclusion of the game on day four, Root said that international players have a responsibility on the field. He also said he hoped the incident would not tarnish the series.

“The ICC have got to handle things – I am not in a position to comment. The series has been played in the right manner between the two sides. [Windies] are a good bunch of guys and it would be a shame if this tarnishes it.

As a player, you feel you have responsibilities to uphold on the field and I stand by what I did. I just did what I thought was right. You have responsibility to go about things in a certain manner on the field and it felt appropriate to act how I did,” said Root.

England, meanwhile, beat Windies by 232 runs in the contest in St Lucia to end the series on a high. The hosts had already won the series after winning the first two games of the three-match series.

[interaction id=”5c5e6ae6e7b5aea0a9369249″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.