Women's T20 World Cup Winners List From 2009 to 2020

In 2016, the Women's T20 World Cup was held in India for the first time.

View : 24.1K

7 Min Read

Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

T20 cricket has grown manifolds since its start and has gained immense popularity. The 2007 T20 World Cup played a major role in enhancing the growth of the shortest format. In Women’s cricket as well, ICC started the T20 World Cup in 2009.

Till now, seven editions of the Women’s T20 World Cup have been held with the last being in 2020. Australia have been extremely dominant in this tournament winning the title a total of five times. In this article, we will be listing out winners of each edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup. These tournaments are held in the same country as the Men’s T20 World Cup for that year.

2009 – England

The first edition held in 2009 was won by the hosts England. They defeated New Zealand by 6 wickets in the final achieving the required target of 86 runs in only 17 overs. Katherine Brunt was adjudged player of the final for her figures of 4-2-6-3.

2010 – Australia

The second edition in 2010 was held in West Indies and this time, New Zealand clashed with Australia in the final. Batting first, the Aussie women scored 106/8 and later restricted New Zealand to 103/6. With this thrilling victory of 3 runs, Australia lifted the trophy for the first time.

2012 – Australia

In the year 2012, Sri Lanka hosted the tournament and Australia reached the finals once again. They were up against England who had to chase a target to 143 runs. However, the Aussie team won the title once again with a 4-run victory in the final.

2014 – Australia

In this edition held in Bangladesh, Australia and England clashed in the final once again. This time England could score only 105/8 while batting first. In response, Australia registered a six-wicket victory with five overs to spare.

2016 – West Indies

This was the first time when T20 World Cup was held in India. In the final game, Australia scored 148/5 while batting first. In response, West Indies achieved the target in 19 overs to win their first title.

2018 – Australia

In the year 2018, the Men’s T20 World Cup was not organized due to the busy schedule but the Women’s edition was held in West Indies. In the final encounter, England got dismissed for only 105 runs while batting first. In the chase, Australia reached the target in 15.1 overs and won the game by 8 wickets.

2020 – Australia

This was the first edition of the T20 World Cup held in Australia and the hosts won the trophy beating India in the final. Batting first, Australia posted a big total of 184/4 with the help beautiful knock from Alyssa Healey. The Indian team could not pose a challenge in the chase and got dismissed for only 99 runs.

T20 Women’s World Cup Winners List

Year Winner Result
2020 Australia won by 85 runs India
2018 Australia won by 8 wickets England
2016 West Indies won by 8 wickets Australia
2014 Australia won by 6 wickets England
2012 Australia won by 4 runs England
2010 Australia won by 3 runs
New Zealand
2009 England won by 6 wickets
New Zealand

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store