Women's World T20 2018: ICC announces team of the tournament

Women’s World T20 2018: ICC announces team of the tournament

The list includes three Indian cricketers.

Smriti Mandhana
Smriti Mandhana. (Photo Source: ICC)

The Women’s WT20 came to an end with Australia going on to win their fourth trophy. While the match was a pure one-sided encounter, it was a pleasing sight to watch the Women in Yellow break into celebration. The Meg Lanningled team is now at the No.1 position in the rankings. The ICC also went on to name the WT20 team of the tournament.

There were three English and Indian cricketers, a couple of Australians and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand and Windies in the team. The selection panel included Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra, Ebony Rainford-Brent, all of whom were commentating during the course of the tournament. It also comprised of ESPN journalist Melinda Farrell and General Manager of the ICC, Geoff Allardice.

ICC honours the top performers 

For the openers choice, there wasn’t much debate as Man of the Tournament Alyssa Healy was always going to be the unanimous choice. Smriti Mandhana was rewarded for her consistency throughout the tournament as she was Healy’s partner. The top order also comprised of wicketkeeper batter Amy Ellen Jones who scored 107 runs and effected five dismissals.

Harmanpreet Kaur who was the second highest run scorer in the tournament was also announced as the skipper of the team. India failed to lose a single game during the group stage but their journey was cut short by the English Women in the semis. Pakistan’s Javeria Khan was also a part of the team. Her 74(52)* against Ireland helped the Greens win their lone game in the tournament.

Windies all-rounder Deandra Dottin impressed everyone with her versatility from scoring runs to taking wickets at a fabulous average of 7.70. The other all-rounder in the team was Ellyse Perry who was a significant performer for Australia as she finished games for her team and picked wickets at a consistent pace.

The English pair of Anya Shrubsole and Kirstie Gordon were both a part of the bowling lineup of the tournament. The duo together accounted for 15 wickets. Leigh Kasperek and Poonam Yadav were the spinners in the playing eleven. Jahanara Alam from Bangladesh was announced as the 12th player.

Here’s a look at the ICC XI of the WT20

Alyssa Healy, Smriti Mandhana, Amy Ellen Jones (wk), Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Deandra Dottin, Javeria Khan, Ellyse Perry, Leigh Kasperek, Anya Shrubsole, Kirstie Gordon, Poonam Yadav. 12th player: Jahanara Alam

[interaction id=”5bf8d37911b99883dbe19621″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.