14 overseas players agree to play PSL final in Pakistan

Bangladesh v Zimbabwe 2nd T20I PSL
Anamul Haque. (© MUNIR UZ ZAMAN/AFP/Getty Images)

After months of preparations, the final of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is drawing close. When the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) managed to get clearance for satisfactory security arrangements from the franchises and the government the overseas recruits in the teams that had qualified for the playoffs backed off from travelling to Pakistan to play the final. It has now been reported that 14 players mostly from Zimbabwe, West Indies, and England will feature in the final.

The Quetta Gladiators beat Peshawar Zalmi in the Qualifier one to qualify for the final PSL season 2 but they were let down as the bigger names in the likes of Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Tymal Mills, Rilee Rossouw and Nathan McCullum all declined going to Pakistan via various mediums, mostly Twitter.


Wright had tweeted: “It’s with a heavy heart I will not be coming to Lahore. I have a young family and for me a game of cricket is just not worth the risk. I’m sorry as I know how much it means to you all and hopefully in the future the safety will not be in doubt to come play there.”

It was considered a huge let down by the management as well as fans who are all so excited to witness the final of the tournament after it was played in the UAE. Some of the most recognizable players who have agreed to play are Bangladesh’s Anamul Haque, English seamer Jade Dernbach, South African smasher Richard Levi, Zimbabwe skipper Graeme Cremer and West Indian Krishmar Santokie.

Also read- Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif negate their spot-fixing allegation

Overseas players who have agreed to play PSL final in Pakistan:

MD Anamul Haque Bijoy (Bangladesh), Elton Chigumbur (Zimbabwe), Peter David Trego (England), Rayad Ryan Emrit (West Indies), Alexander Graeme Cremer (Zimbabwe), Craig Richard Ervine (Zimbabwe), Jade Winston Dernbach (England), Ryan Neil Ten Doeschate (Netherland), Morne Nico van Wyk (South Africa), Richard Ernst Chad Levi (South Africa), Ashar Zaidi (England), Joshua James Cobb (England), Azharullah (England), Sean Michael Ervine  (Zimbabwe), Krishmar Sheldon Santokie (West Indies), Kesrick Williams (West Indies)