Australia set to play two consecutive pink ball Tests in five-month long home summer

Australia recently released the schedule for the 2019-20 home season and there are many exciting fixtures for both the men's and women's teams.

day/night test match
Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

The Australian team is set for a long summer this cricketing season, as for the first time in 41 years, they will be playing even late into March. This will happen as they host New Zealand in a three-match Chappell-Hadlee ODI series next year. Cricket Australia recently released the schedule for the 2019-20 home season and there are many exciting fixtures for both the men’s and women’s teams.

A total of 28 international matches across 10 venues shape a summer that will also include the Women’s T20 World Cup. The Australian men’s team will host neighbours New Zealand, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka; while on the other hand, Australia women’s team will host India, England and Sri Lanka. The schedule also will see a first for the Australian men’s team as they are scheduled to play two back-to-back day-night Test matches.


Australia to face Pakistan and New Zealand in consecutive pink ball Tests

The Baggy Green is scheduled to face Pakistan and then New Zealand in back-to-back day-night Pink ball Test matches. Brisbane’s Gabba hosts the first of two Tests against Pakistan from November 21, followed by a day-night game at Adelaide Oval.

They will then face the Black Caps at Perth Stadium for the second day-night Test match. Then there is the Boxing Day Test at Melbourne and finally Sydney Test. These games are also the first set of contests in Australia which will be played under the inaugural ICC Test Championship.

Cricket Australia will also honour their commitment of an India tour for the three-match ODI series in January, which has caused the Chappell-Hadlee series to be pushed back. The Chappell-Hadlee series will see the Australian team wear a version of the 1999 World Cup-winning kit.

Australia women host Sri Lanka in a T20I and ODI series, before a tri-series against England and India ahead of the T20 World Cup in February.

Australian team’s schedule for 2019-20 season:


November 21-25 – Pakistan at Brisbane

November 29-December 3 – Pakistan at Adelaide (day/night)

December 12-16 – New Zealand at Perth (day/night)

December 26-30 – New Zealand at Melbourne

January 3-7 – New Zealand at Sydney

One-Day Internationals

March 13 – New Zealand at Sydney

March 15 – New Zealand at Sydney

March 20 – New Zealand at Hobart

Twenty20 Internationals

October 27 – Sri Lanka at Adelaide

October 30 – Sri Lanka at Brisbane

November 1 – Sri Lanka at Melbourne

November 3 – Pakistan at Sydney

November 5 – Pakistan at Canberra

November 8 – Pakistan at Perth

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Australian cricket, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on