Bengal skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran's wrong dismissal in Ranji Trophy final sparks debate

Bengal skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran’s wrong dismissal in Ranji Trophy final sparks debate

Saurashtra won the toss and elected to bat first and they got off to a great start on the back of some brilliant performance given by their batsmen.

Abhimanyu Easwaran
Abhimanyu Easwaran. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Bengal and Saurashtra are currently involved in the final of Ranji Trophy 2019-20. During the high voltage game, DRS has hogged the spotlight as Abhimanyu Easwaran was given out by the third umpire although it was clearly evident that the ball was going down the leg side and it was missing the stumps. But, due to less technology available, the third umpire adjudged him out.

Earlier, Saurashtra won the toss and elected to bat first and they got off to a great start on the back of some brilliant performance given by their batsmen. They managed a mammoth score of 425 runs in the first innings and Arpit Vasavada emerged as the top scorer, who played a brilliant knock of 106 runs. Even, Avi Barot, Vishvaraj Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara scored vital fifties for the side.

DRS comes under the scanner once again

On the other hand, Akash Deep took a four-wicket haul, who registered bowling figures of 4/98. Shahbaz Ahmed supported him well from the other end as he scalped a three-fer for his team. Coming onto Bengal’s batting they were at a  score of 134 runs for a loss of three wickets by the of Day-3.

Meanwhile, on Day-3 the instance that hogged the spotlight was the dismissal of Bengal’s skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran, who got out due to the less technology available during the game. Actually, Easwaran failed to anticipate the inswinger bowled by Prerak Mankad that directly hit his pads. At the same time, the bowler appealed for lbw and the on-field umpire adjudged Bengal skipper out. But, after some discussion with his partner on the non-striker’s end as well as with the umpire, the batsman decided to go for a review.

In replays, it looked like a fair delivery that pitched in line and went onto hit the pads above the knee roll but it was missing the stumps. Given that there was no ball-tracking available in the match, the third umpire had no choice left but to go with the umpire’s call. He was just given out over the fact that the ball pitched in line. Otherwise, there were questions over the height of the ball as well as it was going down the leg side. And if the technology was available then the things would have been different.

Here is the video: