T20 World Cup 2022: ICC announce shortlist for player of the tournament

Three players from England, two from Pakistan, two from India, and one each from Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka have made the shortlist.

Jos Buttler an Alex Hales
Jos Buttler an Alex Hales. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 6.6K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The ICC has announced a nine-member shortlist for the Player of the Tournament for the ongoing ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia. The final of the competition will be played between England and Pakistan at the iconic MCG on the 13th of November, with a total of five players combined from both sides nominated for the player of the tournament award.

The fans can vote for their player of the tournament from the pool of nine players that include India's Suryakyamar Yadav and the tournament's leading run-scorer Virat Kohli. Suryakumar lit off the tournament with some spectacular innings only to falter in the semis. Kohli, who is the only player to have won this award twice, is in the running for the third time after a prolific campaign that saw him register four fifties in six outings for India.

Their arch-rivals Pakistan have got all-rounder Shadab Khan and fast bowling sensation Shaheen Afridi nominated for the award. Shadab has been Pakistan's most consistent player in the competition and has contributed handsomely in all departments of the game. Shaheen Afridi started the tournament slowly after going wicket-less in the first two matches but has roared back into form since then, scalping ten wickets.

England, the other finalists, have three players contesting for the prestigious award. While Jos Buttler and Alex Hales are two of the most obvious choices for this award after their belligerence against India guided England to the final, Sam Curran has been leading the charge with the ball in the tournament. In the absence of Jofra Archer, he has been England's best T20I bowler since the turn of the year.

Zimbabwe might have not made it to the semis, but their mercurial all-rounder Sikandar Raza is one of the firm favorites for the award. The talismanic cricketer was at his best in the competition, scoring 219 runs and scalping ten wickets with the ball.

Another cricketer who showcased his abilities in the short format of the game is Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga. The canny spinner accounted for 15 batters in the tournament in just eight outings and is the leading wicket-taker for the tournament so far.