Cricketers Who Won Arjuna Award

Shantha Rangaswamy was the first female cricketer to receive Arjuna Award.

View : 3.6K

3 Min Read

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Arjuna Award is given for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games as the sports honour in India. This award is named after Arjuna, a character from Mahabharata of ancient India. The award is given annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. It is the second-highest sporting honour of India after Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna.

The recipients are selected by a committee formed by the Ministry and are honoured for their “good performance in the field of sports over a period of four years” at the international level and for having shown “qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.” At present, the award comprises “a bronze statuette of Arjuna, certificate, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of ₹15 lakh.

This award was instituted in 1961 to honour the outstanding sportspersons of the nations. Over the years, there have been various changes in the criteria used to give the award. According to the latest revision in 2018, the award is given only to the disciplines included in the events of Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asia Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship and World Cup, and also including Cricket, Indigenous Games and Parasports.

In this article, we will be listing out all the cricket players who have been honoured with the Arjuna Award. To date, a total of 56 cricketers have received this award including both Men’s and Women’s cricket. The first winner was the former Indian all-rounder Salim Durani who received the award in 1961. Shantha Rangaswamy became the first female cricketer to received this honour in 1976.

Cricketers who won Arjuna Award list

Year Winner Gender
1961 Salim Durani Male
1964 Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi Male
1965 Vijay Manjrekar Male
1966 Chandu Borde Male
1967 Ajit Wadekar Male
1968 E. A. S. Prasanna Male
1969 Bishan Singh Bedi Male
1970 Dilip Sardesai Male
1971 Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan Male
1972 B. S. Chandrashekhar Male
1972 Eknath Solkar Male
1975 Sunil Gavaskar Male
1976 Shantha Rangaswamy Female
1977–1978 Gundappa Viswanath Male
1979–1980 Kapil Dev Male
1980–1981 Chetan Chauhan Male
1980–1981 Syed Kirmani Male
1981 Dilip Vengsarkar Male
1982 Mohinder Amarnath Male
1983 Diana Edulji Female
1984 Ravi Shastri Male
1985 Shubhangi Kulkarni Female
1986 Sandhya Agarwal Female
1986 Mohammad Azharuddin Male
1989 Madan Lal Male
1993 Kiran More Male
1993 Manoj Prabhakar Male
1994 Sachin Tendulkar Male
1995 Anil Kumble Male
1996 Javagal Srinath Male
1997 Sourav Ganguly Male
1997 Ajay Jadeja Male
1998 Rahul Dravid Male
1998 Nayan Mongia Male
2000 Venkatesh Prasad Male
2001 VVS Laxman Male
2002 Virender Sehwag Male
2003 Mithali Raj Female
2003 Harbhajan Singh Male
2005 Anju Jain Female
2006 Anjum Chopra Female
2009 Gautam Gambhir Male
2010 Jhulan Goswami Female
2011 Zaheer Khan Male
2012 Yuvraj Singh Male
2013 Virat Kohli Male
2014 Ravichandran Ashwin Male
2015 Rohit Sharma Male
2016 Ajinkya Rahane Male
2017 Harmanpreet Kaur Female
2017 Cheteshwar Pujara Male
2018 Smriti Mandhana Female
2019 Ravindra Jadeja Male
2019 Poonam Yadav Female
2020 Deepti Sharma Female
2020 Ishant Sharma Male

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store