CSA's 3TC Format: Teams, Squads, Timings, Rules, Telecast and other details you need to know

CSA’s 3TC Format: Teams, Squads, Timings, Rules, Telecast and other details you need to know

The exhibition match will be played on June 27, 2020, as a way to raise funds for the COVID-19 pandemic.

AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers. (Photo by Duif du Toit/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

With coronavirus pandemic spreading all over the world, it is not certain when we will witness regular cricket matches on a consistent basis. England and the West Indies played a Test on English soil, which marked the beginning of international cricket.

However, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced a special exhibition match on July 18 in Centurion. The match will start at 2:30 PM IST. This match will also introduce a brand new format named, ‘3TC’. The game has been named as ‘Solidarity Cup’. All the proceeds from the match will go to people who have been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The 3TC format will see three teams playing against each other in the same contest.

Three teams, 36 overs and 24 players to play in the exhibition match by CSA

Each of the teams will bat for 12 overs and their innings will be split into two halves of six overs each. In total three teams have been announced by the CSA for this format. The three teams will be led by AB de Villiers, Temba Bavuma and Reeza Hendricks. The three teams feature well known South African cricketers like Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis, Tabraiz Shamsi, and many others.

Here are the three teams which will take part in the exhibition match

Kingfishers: Reeza Hendricks (captain), Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Faf du Plessis, Thando Ntini, Gerald Coetzee, Glenton Stuurman, Tabraiz Shamsi. Coach: Mignon du Preez.

Kites: Temba Bavuma (captain), Jon-Jon Smuts, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, Ryan Rickleton. Coach: Wandile Gwavu.

Eagles: AB de Villiers (captain), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Junior Dala, Lungi Ngidi. Coach: Geoffrey Toyana.

Telecast: Star Sports (In India)

There are special rules for the 3TCricket format. The following are the rules taken from the official 3team.cricket website.

  1. Each match consists of 3 teams of 8 players each.
  2. The 36-over match is split into two 18-over halves. There is also a break at half-time.
  3. Each innings of a team is 12 overs long. The two opposing teams will bowl 6 overs each.
  4. In the first half of the game, the three teams rotate between BATTING, BOWLING, and DUGOUT. The starting positions of the three teams are determined by a draw.
  5. In the second half of the game, teams bat in descending order of the scores in the first half, and if scores are tied, the first half order is reversed.
  6. After the 7th wicket falls, the last batsman can bat alone but can only score in even numbers of runs. However, if the 7th wicket falls in the first half, the team has to forego the remaining balls in that half. The last batsman resumes his team’s innings in the second half.
  7. Bowling teams will be given one new ball for all their 12 overs. This ball will be used for both teams they bowl too.
  8. Each bowler can bowl a maximum of 3 overs. These 3 overs can be split across both innings, and in any permutation to either of the two opponents. An uncompleted overdue to the fall of the 7th wicket will be filled with dot balls on the scorecard.
  9. 3 additional fielders are allowed in the game since each team has only 8 players. These can be selected by each team or provided by the DUGOUT opposition, in which case fielding restrictions may be applied.
  10. Cricket rules for wides, no-balls and bouncers apply.
  11. Rain-hampered games can only be shortened to 18, 24 or 30 overs. A formula has been laid down by 3TC in this regard.
  12. The teams in descending order of runs win Gold, Silver and Bronze respectively. If 2 teams tie with most runs, a Super Over will decide who wins the Gold. If all 3 teams tie, all get Gold. If there is a tie for second place, Silver is shared.