CSK vs RCB Head-to-Head Record in IPL History

The second-most successful side in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL)Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have played out some exciting and exhilarating matches over the past 15 editions of the league. The South-Indian derby is one of the most anticipated games amongst fans from both cities and around the world. Star-studded players from either side have also made the contests look more eye-catching since the inception of the tournament in 2008.

Speaking about a few interesting encounters between the two powerhouses with this one taking place in Bangalore in the year 2018. The 24th match of the season saw skipper MS Dhoni go berserk and win the clash for his side. Chasing 206 and with CSK struggling at 74/4, Dhoni hammered 70* off just 34 with seven sixes to seal the deal. A year later at the same venue, the Yellow Army was chasing 162 and fall short by just one run. Dhoni yet again came up with fireworks as he slammed 84* off 48 but couldn’t get his side over the line in a thriller.

Notably, CSK won the elusive trophy four times in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021 all under the leadership of former Indian legend Mahendra Singh Dhoni. As mentioned above, they are the second-most successful franchise in the cash-rich league after Mumbai Indians (MI) who have claimed the title five times (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020). On the other hand, RCB finished as runners-up on three occasions in 2009, 2011, and 2016 and is yet to end its trophy drought. In 2011, it was CSK who defeated them in the summit clash and lifted their second IPL trophy back then. Both sides will meet only once in the league phase of the sixteenth edition of the IPL.

CSK vs RCB Head-to-Head in Indian Premier League History:

CSK and RCB have met each other 31 times in the history of IPL with the Chennai-based franchise dominating the fixtures with 20 victories. The Royal Challengers have won ten games with one game ending with no result. 

Matches CSK Won RCB Won No Result
31 20 10 1

Top performers between Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Virat Kohli leads the batting chart with 985 runs to his name in these fixtures followed by MS Dhoni (740) and Suresh Raina (616). In the bowling department, spinner Ravindra Jadeja tops the chart with 18 wickets followed by Dwayne Bravo (17) and Albie Morkel (15).

CSK vs RCB Last Meeting:

CSK and RCB last met in Match No. 24 of IPL 2023 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore where the Super Kings defeated the Royal Challengers by a margin of 8 runs in a high-scoring thriller. Batting first, CSK posted a mammoth total of 226/6 on the board in their allotted 20 overs. Kiwi opener Devon Conway smashed 83 off 45 with six fours and as many maximums while hard-hitter Shivam Dube played a blitz innings of 52 off just 27. Youngster Vijaykumar Vyshak had a forgettable outing as he leaked 62 runs for one wicket in his four-over spell. In reply, skipper Faf du Plessis slammed 62 while Glenn Maxwell hammered 76 but it wasnt enough as the home side fell just short of their target. For his match-winning half-century, Conway won the Player of the Match award. 

CSK vs RCB All-time Results:

Date Winner Margin Venue
17-Apr-2023 Chennai Super Kings 8 Runs Bangalore
04-May-22 Royal Challengers Bangalore 13 Runs Pune
12-Apr-22 Chennai Super Kings 23 Runs Navi Mumbai
24-Sep-21 Chennai Super Kings 6 Wickets Sharjah
25 Apr 2021 Chennai Super Kings 69 Runs Mumbai
25-Oct-20 Chennai Super Kings 8 Wickets Dubai (DSC)
10-Oct-20 Royal Challengers Bangalore 37 Runs Dubai (DSC)
21-Apr-19 Royal Challengers Bangalore 1 Run Bangalore
23-Mar-19 Chennai Super Kings 7 Wickets Chennai
05-May-18 Chennai Super Kings 6 Wickets Pune
25-Apr-18 Chennai Super Kings 5 Wickets Bangalore
22-May-15 Chennai Super Kings 3 Wickets Ranchi
04-May-15 Chennai Super Kings 24 Runs Chennai
22-Apr-15 Chennai Super Kings 27 Runs Bangalore
24-May-14 Chennai Super Kings 8 Wickets Bangalore
18-May-14 Royal Challengers Bangalore 5 Wickets Ranchi
18-May-13 Royal Challengers Bangalore 24 Runs Bangalore
13-Apr-13 Chennai Super Kings 4 Wickets Chennai
25-Apr-12 No Result - Chennai
12-Apr-12 Chennai Super Kings 5 Wickets Chennai
28-May-11 Chennai Super Kings 58 Runs Chennai
24-May-11 Chennai Super Kings 6 Wickets Mumbai
22-May-11 Chennai Super Kings 8 Wickets Bangalore
16-Apr-11 Chennai Super Kings 21 Runs Chennai
31-Mar-10 Chennai Super Kings 5 Wickets Chennai
23-Mar-10 Royal Challengers Bangalore 36 Runs Bangalore
23-May-09 Royal Challengers Bangalore 6 Wickets Johannesburg
14-May-09 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2 Wickets Durban
20-Apr-09 Chennai Super Kings 92 Runs Port Elizabeth
21-May-08 Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 Runs Chennai
28-Apr-08 Chennai Super Kings 13 Runs Bangalore

*Last Updated on 17th April 2023